1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Wireless Networking Issues

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Xeran, Sep 6, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Xeran

    Xeran Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Hey everyone,

    I do need assistance with my routers. I have two wireless linksys routers(one 802.11b and one 802.11g). The G one is hooked up directly to the DSL and the b is in my room. I need to config these routers to link up, but I am not sure how.

    thanks in advance
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Connecting two SOHO broadband routers together.

    Configure the IP address of the secondary router to be in the same subnet as the primary router, but out of the range of the DHCP server in the primary router. For instance DHCP server addresses 192.168.0.2 through 192.168.0.100, I'd assign the secondary router 192.168.0.254 as it's IP address.

    Disable the DHCP server in the secondary router.

    Setup the wireless section just the way you would if it was the primary router.

    Connect from the primary router's LAN port to one of the LAN ports on the secondary router. If there is no uplink port and neither of the routers have auto-sensing ports, use a cross-over cable. Leave the WAN port unconnected!
     
  3. Xeran

    Xeran Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks

    But I am trying to link the wireless routers together wirelessly.

    See they are in two separate (and in opposite sides of the house so thats why I need to do this wirelessly)

    I had noticed you talking about using the uplink feature on my routers, the wireless B has it not the G doesn't
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    You can not connect two routers wirelessly, they only work in gateway mode. You need a wireless bridge or access point to do that.

    As far as the uplink port, some routers are auto-sensing and will automagically correct the cable polarity, others are not and would require a crossover cable. In any case, you only use ONE uplink port on a single end, not on both ends.
     
  5. compgeek101

    compgeek101

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    27
    why are you trying to hook the routers together? If you are trying to connect a computer to the network then you need a wireless adapter.
     
  6. compgeek101

    compgeek101

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    27
    also if it is a wireless router it has an access pont in it already, so ou would nt need another one.
     
  7. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    A wireless router cannot be configured to be an access point, which is why two routers won't work.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/270675

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice