1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Wireless Networking Setup Questions

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Yankee Rose, Apr 8, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Yankee Rose

    Yankee Rose Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 1999
    Messages:
    1,861
    Hi everyone:

    I am attempting to network two systems (XP and 98SE) wirelessly, using Belkin Wireless Desktop Network Cards (PCI), F5D6001 and a Belkin 54 Mbps Wireless Router F5D7230-4. This network will share a cable Internet connection.

    Because I have only done wired networks before, I want to make sure I do this correctly. Can someone please confirm if the following steps are correct:

    1. Install the PCI Wireless Cards/Software in the XP and 98SE machines. (Using the instructions, of course.)

    2. Verify network connectivity.

    3. Install the Wireless Router (again, using the instructions provided.)

    I suppose that may be a no-brainer question, but I just wanted to make sure. Since I'm on a roll ..... here is another silly question:

    With a wireless network, can you use "Network Neighborhood" the same way you do on a wired? I am embarrassed to ask that.

    Thanks for any input & verification. :)
     
  2. ezymony

    ezymony

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    741
    You will have to install the drivers for the wireless cards but the router should work out of the box.
     
  3. Yankee Rose

    Yankee Rose Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 1999
    Messages:
    1,861
    Thanks. Yes, I knew that. So I am correct in getting the cards in and setup FIRST, then doing the router?

    Thanks again.
     
  4. ezymony

    ezymony

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    741
    I have a belkin router and wireless card too it was easy to set up.
     
  5. jtatsud

    jtatsud

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    453
    The order in which you install the router and wireless cards does not matter. However, I would recommend that you have the ability to connect one of your systems - at least temporarily - to the router via a wired Ethernet connection. The reason for this is that if you need to configure the router because the wireless connectivity is not working, you won't have a way to do the configuration unless you able to attach a system via a wired connection.

    Also, Network Neighborhood should work - assuming you have set up Windows networking properly. You may run into some issues, however, if you only have wireless systems since the Master Browser that keeps track of Network Neighborhood connections may not be reliable on a wireless system.

    :)
     
  6. Yankee Rose

    Yankee Rose Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 1999
    Messages:
    1,861
    Thanks for the reply. The CAT5 cable from the one system to the router doesn't need to be a cross-over, does it? THANKS!
     
  7. jtatsud

    jtatsud

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    453
    No, you don't need a crossover cable to connect a PC to a router. On older equipment you needed a crossover cable to connect the router to the modem. However, most newer routers have autosensing ports that will adjust to the type of Ethernet cable (crossover or standard) that you are using.
     
  8. ezymony

    ezymony

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    741
    If you use encryption be sure that the router and card are set the same.
     
  9. Yankee Rose

    Yankee Rose Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 1999
    Messages:
    1,861
    Thanks.

    The XP system has an Ethernet port already, so I will use that for the CAT5 connection.

    To set up the systems, do you guys recommend using the Home Networking Wizard (on XP), or manually set them up (adding TCP/IP, NetBEUI, etc. to other system and making sure they are the same workgroup.)?
     
  10. jtatsud

    jtatsud

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    453
    I would recommend the manual method. I have seen too many posts on this forum with folks having issues with the Networking Wizard. Also, if you use the wizard, and it doesn't work - you won't have a clue as to what's been done to your system. There is a good web site that takes you step by step through the process of manually setting up your Windows network. I like it because, unlike most, it allows for different versions of Windows operating systems. Here is the URL:

    http://www.homenethelp.com/web/howto/net-update.asp

    Also, Bob Cerelli, who often provides help on this forum, has a web site with LOTS of help on various Windows issues. Here is his URL:

    http://www.onecomputerguy.com/index.html

    :)
     
  11. Yankee Rose

    Yankee Rose Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 1999
    Messages:
    1,861
    Thanks, jtatsud - you have been so valuable in all your help. I appreciate it. :)
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/218493

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice