1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Wireless not working on Asus X53U laptop even though all drivers correct

Discussion in 'Networking' started by mlbsk, Dec 24, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mlbsk

    mlbsk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Dear All,

    I was wondering if anyone can help before I throw my laptop out the window. I am not tech minded so please forgive if I don't provide full information on my problem.

    Laptop - Asus X53U
    Wireless Adaptor - Atheros AR9285.
    Spare USB Wireless - Edimax

    A couple of weeks ago, my wireless connection was getting slower and slower. As one day it decided to get extremely slow, I decided to uninstall the wireless card via device manager and reinstall it. Once this had been completed, the wireless just stopped working. The signal bar came up with zero and had a big red X in it. It works fine with ethernet cable but just won't seem to work as a wifi connector.

    I have reinstalled all drivers and everything is enabled. When troubleshooting, it comes up with a possible problem with driver. Once this has been resolved it is then a problem with the network.

    The router is fine as I am able to connect on every other device in the house.

    I even purchased a USB wifi adaptor in the event of the Wireless card packing in but this is still creating the same problem. I used system restore to roll back the laptop to a time when the wireless worked and it didn't seem to help at all.

    If anyone can help, please provide me with step by step instructions.

    Many thanks.
     
  2. mlbsk

    mlbsk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Using windows 7 if this helps.
     
  3. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,851
    First Name:
    Terry
    What firewall or security suite is, or ever was, on the machine?

    Please attach a screen shot of the Networks page (don't collapse the Radar, Connection or Signal History) of the Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector. If you need help with that see TSG Posting a Screenshot. FWIW to take screen shots with Windows 7 or Vista I prefer to use the built-in Snipping Tool.

    Identify your network and also show ...

    Open a (black) Command Prompt window:
    Hold the Windows logo key and press r; in the Run box type cmd and click on OK.

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  4. mlbsk

    mlbsk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Hi Terrynet,

    Thank you for your reply.

    The firewall is Zonealarm and the Antivirus is Avast. I have been using both for over a year and never had any problems. I uninstalled them to see if this was the cause and neither helped the wifi to work again.

    I have attached the Xirrus report, it doesn't bring anything up as the Wifi just doesn't seem to work anymore.

    Here is the IP config report -

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Martin-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 54-04-A6-70-F9-53
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::6116:f2e4:3efa:5967%11(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.120(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 25 December 2012 07:49:11
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 26 December 2012 07:49:11
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 240387238
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-16-40-82-EC-54-04-A6-70-F9-53

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 218.186.2.16
    218.186.2.6
    202.156.1.6
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.lan:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{E2292A00-70F3-41AA-85B4-089000073475}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:9d38:6ab8:2053:3852:3f57:fe87(Pref
    erred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::2053:3852:3f57:fe87%19(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled



    Many thanks. If you would like to use Teamviewer to have direct access then let me know and I will message you my details. =)
     

    Attached Files:

  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,851
    First Name:
    Terry
    From the Rules:

    Make sure the following service is Started (Control Panel - Administrative Tools - Services).

    WLAN AutoConfig


    If it is not, make sure the Startup Type is Automatic and try to Start it.
     
  6. mlbsk

    mlbsk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Hi, that doesn't appear in the administrative tools.

    How do I get it to be a start up type and for it to be automatic?
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,851
    First Name:
    Terry
    Services doesn't appear in Administrative Tools?!?!? That doesn't sound good. :(

    Try typing services in the Start search bar.
     
  8. mlbsk

    mlbsk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    I typed in services and found it there. WLAN config is on started and set to automatic already.
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,851
    First Name:
    Terry
    Does the wireless adapter appear as OK in Device Manager under Network Adapters?

    If so, does the wireless connection show in Network Connections and is it enabled?

    I assume that for the ipconfig /all and Xirrus we have been trying with the integrated adapter. Any differences with the USB?
     
  10. mlbsk

    mlbsk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Yes, device manager is all OK and there doesn't appear to be any faults. Everything has enabled on it in the network connections but it still doesn't work. This is the same with the USB too.

    Just for some reason the WIFI has stopped. All the buttons are on, F2 etc and it should in reality work. I have given remote access to numerous people and none have been able to resolve it.
     
  11. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,851
    First Name:
    Terry
    One system with these symptoms was fixed with an uninstall of Webroot security suite. The only other successes I know of were Windows reinstalls. :(
     
  12. mlbsk

    mlbsk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Do I need to do that via a system repair disc?
     
  13. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,851
    First Name:
    Terry
    No, that requires an installation DVD, a Recovery partition or a set of Recovery DVDs.
     
  14. mlbsk

    mlbsk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Oh no, so I need to get a new copy of Windows 7 or Windows 8 just to get the wifi working again?

    Maybe its worth just getting a new laptop and using this on ethernet only.

    Thank you for your help. =)
     
  15. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,851
    First Name:
    Terry
    There must be an easier fix, but I do not know of it.

    You're welcome. :)
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1082252

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice