1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Wireless not working

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by einstein999999, Apr 9, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. einstein999999

einstein999999 Thread Starter

Hello,

I am running a Toshiba Satellite A-135 S-4517 laptop with Vista SP1. This morning, I turned on my laptop and accessed the internet to do some research. After downloading some updates through Windows Update, I put my laptop into Sleep mode and did not touch it for the remainder of the day. A few hours ago, I turned my laptop on again and tried to get online. The wireless card was on, and I managed to connect to the school (I'm a student at a boarding school) network. The problem is, I could only access the Local network. I know that my IP address is not banned, because I booted into Ubuntu and was able to get online, and currently I'm on Vista and posting this through an Ethernet cord.

Device Manager lists 6TO4 (what on earth is that for?), Intel PRO/Wireless 3945 ABG Network Connection, Realtek RTL8101 Family PCI-E Fast Ethernet NIC (NDIS 6.0), and two VMware virtual adapters.

Is anyone else having this problem, and does anyone have any suggestions on what to do?

2. TerryNet

TerryNet Moderator

First Name:
    Terry
    You can try to delete the 6TO4 adapter (I don't know what it does other than sometimes cause trouble). For the wireless problem the first step, and maybe the only one needed, is to restart the PC.

3. rodeognome

rodeognome

seems too co-incidental that you did updates , then it would'nt work.

You might try doing good auld system restore.

4. einstein999999

einstein999999 Thread Starter

I disabled the 6TO4 adapter and rebooted the computer. It worked! Thanks!

5. TerryNet

TerryNet Moderator

First Name:
    Terry