Solved Wireless Printer & new routers

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

katydid959

Thread Starter
Joined
May 13, 2018
Messages
4
I just replaced my old modem and router for an Arris Wireless Cable Modem Gateway. Everything works find EXCEPT for my wireless printer. It is not able to connect to the network. Can someone tell me what I'm doing wrong or how to get it connected?

Thank you in advance.

The positive thing her is I was able to set my Gateway up and get connected all by myself - mostly LOL
 

cwwozniak

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 28, 2005
Messages
65,204
First Name
Chuck
Have you gone through the networking setup on the printer? Your new wireless modem/router very likely has a different SSID and password than your old hardware.

If your printer's network settings are not set up to use DHCP to get its IP address, you will need to configure the DHCP range on you new gateway to move a few addresses out of the DHCP range and then set the printer to use one of those addresses.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2014
Messages
20,271
First Name
Liz
It helps if you post the brand and model of printer.
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2016
Messages
1,202
First Name
Morten
My guess, I've seen it many times before, is that the printer can't connect to a 5Ghz access point. If you have a dual band router then try to connect to the 2.4Ghz SSID.
You can try to set both 5/2.4 bands to the same name. However, be advised that most home routers will have you connect to the 2.4 band first. So your other devices will connect to that before they'll connect to the 5Ghz.
If possible, connect the printer with an Ethernet cable and then connect the clients directly to the IP/Name of the printer.
 

katydid959

Thread Starter
Joined
May 13, 2018
Messages
4
My guess, I've seen it many times before, is that the printer can't connect to a 5Ghz access point. If you have a dual band router then try to connect to the 2.4Ghz SSID.
You can try to set both 5/2.4 bands to the same name. However, be advised that most home routers will have you connect to the 2.4 band first. So your other devices will connect to that before they'll connect to the 5Ghz.
If possible, connect the printer with an Ethernet cable and then connect the clients directly to the IP/Name of the printer.
Thank you for the reply. I have gone ahead and connected it with the ethernet cable. I will try to connect to the 2.4 band as you say. I have been trying with the 5Ghz. Thank you for your input.
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2016
Messages
1,202
First Name
Morten
Ok. Sounds good. If, indeed, the band selection was wrong, or the printer isn't capable of running at 5Ghz, please mark this as solved.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top