1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

wireless printing problem

Discussion in 'Networking' started by mesaregal, Apr 28, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mesaregal

    mesaregal Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    I recently purchased a Netgear Unite internet device from ATT. It works very good, and goes with us wherever we go. It eliminates the need for wifi supplied by an outside vendor. My problem is that my Dell All in One printer V525W (wireless) doesn't automatically connect. I can print by plugging in a USB cord. I called ATT and a tech guy told me this device will not allow wireless printing. I doubt that this is correct.

    My Dell PC is on Windows 7.

    It think if I can change the SSID, it will work. But I don't know how to do this. Any body have a fix for this?

    Thanks!
     
  2. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,388
    First Name:
    David
    Most of these "HotSpot" devices require some local SW to be installed on each device.
    How do you expect to install the required SW on a printer?
     
  3. mesaregal

    mesaregal Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    What is SW? I'm illiterate. Sorry.
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,931
    First Name:
    Terry
    Meaning that you have to re-connect it each time it or the Netgear Unite internet device has been off?
     
  5. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,388
    First Name:
    David
    SW=Software
     
  6. mesaregal

    mesaregal Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    My printer doesn't recognize the Netgear Unite. I think I have to change the SSID on the printer menu but I can't seem to do it.
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,931
    First Name:
    Terry
    Can't you just have the printer scan for available networks and choose the one you want?
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1147396

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice