1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

wireless problems

Discussion in 'Networking' started by bobirino, Jan 2, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bobirino

    bobirino Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    i have a satellite hn7000s modem and recently hooked up a dlink dir-655 wireless router and i cannot get them to sync. i connected them and my computer recognizes it but cannot go on line after hooking up to the dlink. i've changed the ip address on my dlink to 192.168.1.1 so as not to cause a conflict but don't know what else to do.. little help please.... thanks in advance... bobirino:(





    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.1
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows XP Professional, Service Pack 2, 32 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.53GHz, x86 Family 15 Model 2 Stepping 9
    Processor Count: 1
    RAM: 1022 Mb
    Graphics Card: RADEON FIRE GL 8800 (Microsoft Corporation), 64 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 76285 MB, Free - 63248 MB;
    Motherboard: Dell Computer Corp., 0T0171, , ..CN4811144512EI.
    Antivirus: AVG Anti-Virus Free, Updated: Yes, On-Demand Scanner: Enabled
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    from what i can see the hn7000s is a router
    http://www.conrad-anderson.co.uk/satelliteinternet/hn7000s-satellite-modem.htm
    http://www.eeenterprisesinc.com/pdf/HN7000S.pdf

    - so you are connecting two routers together
    try this


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    From a JohnWill post

    Connecting two (or more) SOHO broadband routers together.

    Note: The "primary" router can be an actual router, a software gateway like Microsoft Internet Connection Sharing, or a server connection that has the capability to supply more than one IP address using DHCP server capability. No changes are made to the primary "router" configuration.

    Configure the IP address of the secondary router(s) to be in the same subnet as the primary router, but out of the range of the DHCP server in the primary router. For instance DHCP server addresses 192.168.0.2 through 192.168.0.100, I'd assign the secondary router 192.168.0.254 as it's IP address, 192.168.0.253 for another router, etc.

    Note: Do this first, as you will have to reboot the computer to connect to the router again for the remaining changes.

    Disable the DHCP server in the secondary router.

    Setup the wireless section just the way you would if it was the primary router, channels, encryption, etc.

    Connect from the primary router's LAN port to one of the LAN ports on the secondary router. If there is no uplink port and neither of the routers have auto-sensing ports, use a cross-over cable. Leave the WAN port unconnected!

    This procedure bypasses the routing function (NAT layer) and configures the router as a switch (or wireless access point for wireless routers).

    For reference, here's a link to a Typical example config using a Netgear router

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. bobirino

    bobirino Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    so close but no cigar. i changed the ip address like you said but nothing. then i found a sight that wanted this type of action:Log into the router and select the top "setup" tab. Then select the "Internet" tab on the left, and then "Manual Internet Connection Setup" at the bottom of the page. The next page that comes up will have Internet Connection Type, make sure yours is set for Dynamic IP (DHCP). NEXT CLICK "Save Settings". The router will want to reboot. Do so.

    After the reboot log back into the router and select the setup tab again, then select
    Network Settings on the left side. You will see the IP address of the router about mid page. I'm guessing that it's something like 192.168.0.1 or 192.168.1.1. Change it to 192.168.5.1, and save settings again. It will want a reboot. Do so.

    Now the important part. Once it reboots, you will have to either restart your PC or open a command prompt and type "ipconfig /release" and enter, and then "ipconfig /renew" and enter. Then log back into the router and check the status tab. and got even closer. but what happens is that mozilla and internet explorer times out and won't load. don't know what to do...
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    you need to setup without dhcp

    would you connect to the hn7000 and post an ipconfig /all here
    NOTE all the instructions for setup - what did you follow ?


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {ipconfig /all}
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here
    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results here
    -> Start
    -> (XP - enter the following in the RUN box)
    cmd /k ipconfig /all
    -> (Vista or Windows 7 - enter the following in the Search box)
    cmd /k ipconfig /all

    A black box will appear on the screen -
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy

    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. bobirino

    bobirino Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    i don't know if this will help as i could not get to all of the info that you need. i can copy and paste other info from my from my routers if that would help.. thanks for the time to help. i will see if i can give more info while waiting for a reply. thanks again. bob.

    C:\Documents and Settings\>cmd /k ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . :
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/1000 MT Network Connect
    ion
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-07-E9-F1-70-87

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\>cmd /k ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . :
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/1000 MT Network Connect
    ion
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-07-E9-F1-70-87
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.2
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 66.82.4.8
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, January 03, 2011 9:07:24 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, January 04, 2011 9:07:24 AM
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    so you should be able to connect the two routers together LAN connections (you may need a crossover cable) and set the secondary router so that DHCP is disabled and the IP is assign the secondary router 192.168.0.254
     
  7. bobirino

    bobirino Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    i'll try to give you more info after this..

    C:\Documents and Settings\>cmd /k ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . :
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/1000 MT Network Connec
    ion
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-07-E9-F1-70-87
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.5.100
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.5.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.5.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.5.1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, January 03, 2011 9:25:38 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, January 10, 2011 9:25:38 AM


     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    whats the above post from?
     
  9. bobirino

    bobirino Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    i'm going to need someone who can walk me through the entire process as i am not the whiz that most of you are. thank you for your help

    C:\Documents and Settings\>cmd /k ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : bob-9438c111af9
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/1000 MT Network Connect
    ion
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-07-E9-F1-70-87
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration IP Address. . . : 169.254.225.124
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 169.254.225.124


     
  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    you need to explain what ipconfig you are posting and why

    connect a cable to the hn7000 and to a PC and then do an ipconfig /all and post the results here - make sure we know its this configuration you are posting -

    We can then use this info to identify the IP you need to set

    So do that first and then we can do the next bit - here

    then connect a cable to the d-link - and a PC - loginto the router and goto the LAN section and disable the DHCP
    also set the default gateway IP Address of the router to an ip address out of the range of the hn7000 - this will be worked out from the ipconfig you post
    Now connect a cable from the old router to the new router bot connected to the LAN connections
     
  11. bobirino

    bobirino Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    ok here we go. thank you so much by the way.

    C:\Documents and Settings\The>cmd /k ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : bob-9438c111af9
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/1000 MT Network Connect
    ion
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-07-E9-F1-70-87
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.2
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 66.82.4.8
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, January 03, 2011 11:05:46 AM

    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, January 04, 2011 11:05:46 A
    M
     
  12. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    then connect a cable to the d-link - and a PC - loginto the router and goto the LAN section and disable the DHCP
    also set the default gateway IP Address of the router to an ip address out of the range of the hn7000 - this will be worked out from the ipconfig you post - 192.168.0.254
    Now connect a cable from the old router to the new router bot connected to the LAN connections
     
  13. bobirino

    bobirino Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    i'm trying to get it set up all over again. i'm telling you this is a big problem for me. be back later..
     
  14. bobirino

    bobirino Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    ok this is what's happening. got it back to where i could get into both and it will not allow me to save my changes saying that the wan and the lan cannot be the same. and after that i noticed that you want me to place another cable into the routers and into the lan. not possible since i have only the
     
  15. bobirino

    bobirino Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    one coming out of the back of the hn7000s modem/router
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/972249

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice