1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Wireless repeater

Discussion in 'Networking' started by havenx8, Aug 9, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. havenx8

    havenx8 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    So I want to make a wireless repeater out of my Linksys router, while using my 2wire as my main router. Is it possible to do this with two different routers? If so, can someone give me a step by step on how to do this?
     
  2. havenx8

    havenx8 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    or should i bridge 2wire to linksys?
     
  3. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,347
    First Name:
    Terry
    Does either router have Repeater (Range Extender) or Wireless Bridge (AP Client) mode? If not, maybe there is DD-WRT firmware for one.
     
  4. havenx8

    havenx8 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    hmm I'm not sure...

    one is 2WIRE model: 3800HGV-B
    and the other is...
    Linksys Model: WRT54G v5
     
  5. mucker2010

    mucker2010

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    505
    It depends what you want to use it for. If you wish to extend your wireless range for LAN access only (no internet) it may be possible without externders.

    I've been thinking about this recently but I haven't got any equipment to test it out. In theory it should work anyway and I don't understand why wireless bridge mode, range extender etc is needed. I'm not saying it useless, I know it is there for a reason obviously but maybe the OP can try this.

    On both routers configure the wireless settings EXACTLY the same. This means thr SSID, channel, encryption method and keys and anything else. At the LAN level NO routing occurs. What this means is that wireless traffic either router receives it just re-transmits it back out. This will mean the signal is "bounced" to the other router which itself re-transmits. If however you tried to go on the internet each router will try to route the traffic out the WAN (cabled) port to the phone line and fail on the router that has no internet access.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1011692

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice