1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

wireless router activity log

Discussion in 'Networking' started by zk8919, Mar 13, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. zk8919

    zk8919 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    hi
    i have a 2wire 2701HG-B Gateway DSL router for residential area. Is there any one who can help me with letting me know to check the activity log. i want to check what websites my kids go on their laptop and they won't know while i am doing that from my laptop. Please help. Thanks a lot in advance. HELP PLEASE.
     
  2. dannyn

    dannyn

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,689
    well... you could go with a remote desktop view software if you want to go that route.
     
  3. kjjb0204

    kjjb0204

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2001
    Messages:
    383
    Once you log in to the router's configuration panel, there should be an option somewhere for logs. The biggest issue with logs and home routers is that most routers only keep the last 64 activities in the log then flush and start logging again. 64 activities can happen in a matter of a minute if someone is actively surfing. My Netgear router can send me an email as soon as the log is full and I can check them later for websites visited. Problem is, I work from home, so I'm online constantly and I can get several hundred log reports in a day.
     
  4. kjjb0204

    kjjb0204

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2001
    Messages:
    383
    You can also try setting the web content filtering features on the router to help keep the bad sites to a minimum. Also log in to the notebook as the administrator, set the AV software to filter websites, and create a second user account on the notebook for your kids with limited web surfing abilities.
     
  5. zk8919

    zk8919 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Once you log in to the router's configuration panel, there should be an option somewhere for logs. The biggest issue with logs and home routers is that most routers only keep the last 64 activities in the log then flush and start logging again. 64 activities can happen in a matter of a minute if someone is actively surfing. My Netgear router can send me an email as soon as the log is full and I can check them later for websites visited. Problem is, I work from home, so I'm online constantly and I can get several hundred log reports in a day.

    Thanks for replying back. So how do i log into the router's configuration panel. Please tell me in detail as i am a beginner and don't know that much about computer. Thanks once again.
     
  6. kjjb0204

    kjjb0204

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2001
    Messages:
    383
    Check the manual for the ip address for the router configuration page. It should be something like 192.168.1.1 or 192.168.2.1. Type that into your browser (do not type www. or http:/, just the numbers) and a user id/password page should pop up. The manual should have the default user id and password for you. Most routers have the default user id blank and the password "admin."
     
  7. dannyn

    dannyn

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,689
    isnt that for a linksys router?
     
  8. zk8919

    zk8919 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Ok. i have tried to put the number whihc is assigned to me as 192.168.1.1 but nothing happens as i was told. when i enter this it link me to msn search website links. is there anything esle i can do. please reply. thanks.
     
  9. kjjb0204

    kjjb0204

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2001
    Messages:
    383
    It should be for any home router. Linksys and Netgear use 192.168.1.1. Belkin uses 192.168.2.1. Dlink is 192.168.15.1. Those are the only brands I have experience with. I think most models, you can type www.routerlogin.com and it should bring up the login page for you.
     
  10. kjjb0204

    kjjb0204

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2001
    Messages:
    383
    Looking quickly at a 2wire manual (I've never used their products), looks like you should type http://gateway.2wire.net or 192.168.1.254.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/693078