1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Wireless Router and LAN Router Setup Problems

Discussion in 'Networking' started by roosterman, Feb 2, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. roosterman

    roosterman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2002
    Messages:
    143
    Our office currently has a Linksys 10/100 Router with assigned IP Address of 192.168.0.1 that our wired desktops connect through, as well as our printers, data storage server and cable modem. All of the connections have IP Address based upon the 192.168.0.xxx. All of the computers on this router, except for one of the printers and the data storage server, are DHCP assigned IP addresses.

    We have a D-Link Wireless router attached through the Linksys Router with an assigned IP Address of 192.168.10.1 that we use for wireless access/hard wire access in the office for anyone that comes in and needs to have access to the internet or our data storage and printers.

    I can connect a laptop wirelessly or wired to this router. The computers can browse the internet and see any computers on the network, but cannot connect to any. Specifically the data storage server. I am not too concerned with the laptops connecting to the desktops connected to the Linksys router, but I need them to connect to the data server especially and have the ability to print to at least one of our printers.

    Any suggestions? I know that it's probably something really simple that I am missing or doing wrong, but I just can't put my finger on it.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks!
     
  2. skinnywhiteboy

    skinnywhiteboy

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,069
    First Name:
    Bruce
    You do realize your wireless router is on a different subnet......Is it issuing out IP addresses as well??


     
  3. roosterman

    roosterman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2002
    Messages:
    143
    Both routers are on a subnet mask of 255.255.255.0. The wireless router is issuing out IP Addresses as well.


    Thanks for the reply!
     
  4. skinnywhiteboy

    skinnywhiteboy

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,069
    First Name:
    Bruce
    I understand that the subnet mask is the same, but the subnets are different. You have one router issuing out IP addresses on 192.168.0.x, and then you have another router issuing out IP addresses on 192.168.10.x. Pick a subnet, and disable DHCP on one of the routers. How many nodes on your network??
     
  5. roosterman

    roosterman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2002
    Messages:
    143
    Sorry, I misunderstood you. Yes the subnets are different, however, if I change the D-Link to 192.168.0.100 (which is the IP that the Linksys is assigning it) I can no longer access the internet. Even with DHCP disabled on the D-Link and assigning one to the laptop.

    On the Linksys, there are 9 (counting the D-Link). The D-Link doesn't have any wired nodes at the moment and only 1 current wireless node at the moment.

    I cannot disable DHCP on the Linksys, due to the fact that the printers rely on getting their IPs assigned and I'm not messing with the printers. They were a pain to get to work in the first place. :)

    My preference would be to have DHCP enabled on the D-Link as well. That way when someone comes in the office that's not part of our company, I don't have to manually give them an IP address on their laptop.


    Thanks!
     
  6. skinnywhiteboy

    skinnywhiteboy

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,069
    First Name:
    Bruce
    Here is what I would do. Leave DHCP on on the Linksys. Turn off DHCP on the D-Link. As long as the D-Link is uplinked into your network, the Linksys will assign clients IP addresses and you shouldn't have to configure anyone's laptop special. This does not matter if they are wireless or not.

    Typically with networks, you want to assign devices such as printers, routers, etc. with IP addressing outside of the DHCP pool. If DHCP is assigning clients a range of, let's say, 192.168.0.100 - 192.168.0.200, then your devices would be configured as follows.

    Linksys Router 192.168.0.1 (Gateway)
    D-Link Router 192.168.0.2 (Wireless AP)
    Printer 1 192.168.0.10
    Printer 2 192.168.0.11
    Printer 3 192.168.0.12
    .......And so on......

    All clients would get 192.168.0.100 - 200
    It's always a good idea to set up your printers statically like that because if DHCP issues the printer a new IP, now (all of a sudden) you have all these clients that can't print, and that can be a real pain in the butt.

    With your current set up (DHCP enabled on both and on different subnets), some clients get IP's of 192.168.0.x and some clients get Ip's of 192.168.10.x. This is also the reason why you're having access issues.


     
  7. roosterman

    roosterman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2002
    Messages:
    143
    Thanks for the reply. I will spend some time with that and let you know what I come up with.

    Thanks Again!
     
  8. roosterman

    roosterman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2002
    Messages:
    143
    I've tried to no avail. However, I did discover that my printers are assigned an IP like you suggested. Here's my settings so far:


    Linksys Router
    - 192.168.0.1
    Connections to Linksys Router (assigned by DHCP):
    D-Link 624 - 192.168.0.100
    erich - 192.168.0.101
    chrisw - 192.168.0.102
    austinc - 192.168.0.103
    mike - 192.168.0.104
    laptop - 192.168.0.105
    marks - 192.168.0.106

    Printer connections to Linksys Router:
    Savin9920 - 192.168.0.120
    Magi6100 - 192.168.0.252
    Oce9400 - 192.168.0.253


    Linksys Router Settings:
    DHCP: Enabled
    Starting IP Address: 192.168.0.100
    Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
    WAN Connection Type: Optain an IP Automatically

    WAN Settings (Inside Linksys Router):

    IP Address: 12.219.70.108
    Subnet Mask: 255.255.248.0
    Default Gateway: 12.219.64.1
    DNS: 204.127.203.135
    216.148.225.135
    0.0.0.0

    Now to the D-Link Router:

    The Linksys router has assigned it an address of 192.168.0.100
    I have set the D-Link router's LAN IP Address to: 192.168.0.2 with a Subnet mask of 255.255.255.0 and DHCP Server: Disabled.

    The WAN settings show:
    IP Address: 192.168.0.100
    Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway: 192.168.0.1
    DNS: (Same as DNS on Linksys Router)

    The only way I can connect to the D-Link router after these settings were changed to the above settings is hardwired and assigning:

    IP Address: 192.168.0.254
    Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway: 192.168.0.2

    I cannot connect wirelessly to the router, nor can I browse the internet using either connection type.

    Give it a look and please tell me what I need to change.

    Thanks in advance for all your help!
     
  9. roosterman

    roosterman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2002
    Messages:
    143
    Mark this thread as solved.

    I gave up and ordered an AP that way I don't have to mess with any of the settings.

    Thanks for the replies and suggestions skinny!(y)
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/439291

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice