1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Wireless Router Connected but no Internet Linksys WRTG54GX

Discussion in 'Networking' started by djrazr, Oct 15, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. djrazr

    djrazr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    131
    I just got myself a wireless router Linksys WRTG54GX with SRX. I can see that i am connected to my router full green bars, but when i click to go onto the internet, i cant connect. It says page not found etc... I use my laptop and it says that i am connected. I was trying to log into my router at 192.168.1.1 but cant since i have no connection. I hooked up my laptop directly to the router too

    It's a toshiba A105, wireless with XP


    Help would be appreciated, thanks
     
  2. Old Rich

    Old Rich

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    10,254
    Did you power cycle the modem, router and pc's since you hooked up the router?. Turn all three off . . turn on the Modem and let the lights stabilize ( 2-3 minutes usually ) then turn on the router and then one pc at a time
     
  3. djrazr

    djrazr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    131
    I tried that, and i still get the same thing
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Reset the router to factory defaults by holding the reset button down for 15 seconds with power on.

    • Turn off everything, the modem, router, computer.
    • Connect the modem to the router's WAN/Internet port.
    • Connect the computer to one of the router's LAN/Network ports.
    • Turn on the modem, wait for a steady connect light.
    • Turn on the router, wait for two minutes.
    • Boot the computer.

    When the computer is completely booted, let's see this.

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  5. djrazr

    djrazr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    131
    This is what i got

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name.............................. Toshiba User
    Primary Dns Suffix....................
    Node Type...............................Hybrid
    IP Routing enabled.................... No
    WINS Proxy enabled..................No

    Ethernet adapter wireless network connection

    Media state................................. media disconnected
    Description................................. atheros ar5006eg wireless network adapter

    Adapter #2
    Physical address.....................................00-16-e3-73-04-60

    Ethernet adapter local area connection

    media state.....................................media disconnected
    description...................................... realtek rtl8139/810x family fast ethernet

    Ethernet NIC
    physical address................................. 00-a0-d1-4f-24-f2
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Can you turn off the modem, connect the computer directly to the modem, turn on the modem, and reboot the computer. Please use the same cable as you're using to connect from the computer to the router.

    Then I'd like to see the IPCONFIG /ALL again.
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,171
    First Name:
    Terry
    End of JohnWIll's first sentence change 'router' to 'computer.'
     
  8. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Fixed. :)
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/638719

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice