1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Wireless Router Gives Landline Internet But No Wireless

Discussion in 'Networking' started by jasonh, Mar 11, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jasonh

    jasonh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Ladies and Gents,

    I'm sure lots of people say this, but I know very little about technology. I must say if this works for me, this is the sikest website ever and I will be telling the entire world about it.

    I have a Linksys Wireless-N Broadband Router Model No. WRT160N. I have had it since 2008; therefore, the warranty is expired and Linksys refused to give me tech support over the phone. Here's the problem:

    It is not giving off a wireless signal. It works as a router just fine. I have my landline ethernet cable coming into it, and then a cord going to my desktop and a cord going to my laptop and the internet works fine. However, it give off no wireless signal.

    I tried resetting to factory settings and that did not help. I've attached a pic of the router when it's turned on. You can see the middle button is Orange and the wireless icon is not lighted at all.

    Any ideas?

    Cheers!

    Jason
     

    Attached Files:

  2. oksteve

    oksteve

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    938
    Hi Jason, Have you tried connecting directly with the router to check for firmware updates ?
     
  3. jasonh

    jasonh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Hmmm...I don't know how to do that. My computer is connected directly with the router. An ethernet cable is going from the router to the desktop. Is there something else I should do?
     
  4. oksteve

    oksteve

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    938
    If you have the user guide that will help if this ip address is wrong.
    Type in the address bar http://71.168.2.100
    Hopefully your now inside your router.
    If not please consult the user guide for the ip address for the router and use that.

    Once inside you might be asked for a password,if you set one up then enter it, if not click through. Now rumage around for a link that might be called "Firmware Update" and click it and follow instructions.:)
     
  5. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,877
    can we see an ipconfig /all from a cable connected PC - see below

    from the user manual

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {ipconfig /all}
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results in a reply here

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results to notepad and then automatically open notepad.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results to a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
    Now go back to the forum - reply and then right click in the reply box and paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/985443