Wireless router internet light off

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

tree0204

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 31, 2013
Messages
3
I have a netgear MR814 router that is not connecting to the internet. A few days ago my wireless was SO slow that I disconnected and did a powercycle (which usually works when wireless drops off now and then) but then it did not connect to the modem anymore. The ports 1, 4, wireless, and power lights are on but the internet light is off. I know it's not a modem problem because I can hardwire the modem to my laptop and get on internet. I've tried a few things suggested on this forum and elsewhere (maybe I shouldn't have messed with it?) but nothing has worked to resolve the problem. When I am connected to the router I cannot access the routerlogin and the ipconfig/release/renew shows that wireless lan media is disconnected. The router is a bit old too so maybe it's just dying on me? Does that happen? I can follow most instructions but have no real knowledge of computers, etc., so any help would be appreciated! :)

Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i3 CPU M 370 @ 2.40GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 37 Stepping 5
Processor Count: 4
RAM: 3893 Mb
Graphics Card: Intel(R) HD Graphics, 1722 Mb
Hard Drives: C: Total - 458067 MB, Free - 369650 MB; D: Total - 14607 MB, Free - 1626 MB; E: Total - 4055 MB, Free - 1103 MB;
Motherboard: Hewlett-Packard, 1693
Antivirus: avast! Antivirus, Updated and Enabled
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
The router is a bit old too so maybe it's just dying on me? Does that happen?
yes

whats the make and model of the modem

connected with a cable to the modem post an ipconfig /all - see below
and then with the router connected to the modem and a pc connected by cable to the router post and ipconfig /all

make sure we know which is which
and do a power cycle when making the changes - see below

------------------------------------------------------------------------
ipconfig /all
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply
Note: you will see entries named Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface: we dont need to see that information - JUST the infomation above those entries

We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

This should work for all windows version, XP, Vista, W7
Hold the Windows key and press R
For Windows 8
to open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop. Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.

then type CMD

then press Enter to open a command prompt box
(A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
to do that:
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
all the text will now be highlighted
Next
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
------------------------------------------------------------------------

------------------------------------------------------------------------

How to power cycle

“power cycle” process to reboot or reset the modem/router
  • Switch off all the devices modem, router and computers also unplug their power cables.
  • Wait at least 1 to 5 minutes,
  • Plug the power cords back in, but don’t switch them on.
  • First turn on the modem and then wait for a few minutes for it to settle and all the lights to become stable.
  • Next switch on the router (if a separate device) and then wait for a few minutes for it to settle and all the lights to become stable.
  • Now turn on your computer, You should now be able to access the Internet.
------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

tree0204

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 31, 2013
Messages
3
Modem info:
Cisco 2100 cable modem
MAC 00252ED63236
S/N226295454
ISP: Time Warner Cable

I don't have a phone (landline) hooked up to my cable. But here is the info I got from running the commands:

Just connected to modem:

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Soubak-HP
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe FE Family Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 78-E3-B5-62-BB-09
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::e80d:71ec:17cd:a983%12(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 24.136.84.40(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.192
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, January 31, 2013 10:30:02 AM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, February 01, 2013 2:24:44 AM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 24.136.84.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 76.85.238.41
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 343466933
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-16-6F-73-93-AC-81-12-C7-E5-92
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 209.18.47.61
209.18.47.62
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8188CE 802.11b/g/n WiFi Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : AC-81-12-C7-E5-92
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Connected with router:

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Soubak-HP
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe FE Family Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 78-E3-B5-62-BB-09
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::e80d:71ec:17cd:a983%12(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.2(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, January 31, 2013 3:21:21 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, February 07, 2013 3:21:22 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 343466933
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-16-6F-73-93-AC-81-12-C7-E5-92
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8188CE 802.11b/g/n WiFi Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : AC-81-12-C7-E5-92
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Any suggestions?
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,751
If you can't access the router, even though you have an IP configuration, reset the router to factory defaults and see if that coaxes a little longer life from it.
 

tree0204

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 31, 2013
Messages
3
If you can't access the router, even though you have an IP configuration, reset the router to factory defaults and see if that coaxes a little longer life from it.
That was the first thing I did... If that doesn't work, is the router dead?
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,751
99.9% dead. You can try unplugging the router for several hours and then try the reset to factory defaults again, but that is the last glimmer of hope.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top