1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Wireless router is showing it is connected but still can't connect to internet

Discussion in 'Networking' started by green_fairy, Jul 29, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. green_fairy

    green_fairy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Day 2 of Cox High Speed Internet Premier Service.
    Laptop 1: Macbook - OS 10.6.4
    Laptop 2: Toshiba - WindowsVista
    Modem: Best Data CMX300V2
    Router: Belkin Wireless G Router


    I was able to wirelessly connect 2 laptops and my PS3 momentarily yesterday by adding the password to the SSID ( first day of service) but have not been able to connect since. I added the network to my PS3 yesterday and was able to save, however, anytime i try and get online i get an error message: "The key information exchange timed out. The WPA key you entered may not be correct.

    A wired Ethernet connection between the computer and the modem (CMX300v2) works and you can access the Internet.

    A wired Ethernet connection between the computer and the Belkin Wireless G Router works and you can access the Internet.

    The Belkin Wireless G Router broadcast and shows a good signal strength but when prompted for the password, the connection times out.

    Could this be an IP issue? Setting each machine with its own IP address help? I can login to my router admin page http://192.168.2.1 to make adjustments. I am just not sure what the issue is here.

    Thanks!
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    I doubt this is an ISP issue. I'd start by removing all encryption from the router and then doing the following.

    Remove all the stored wireless network profiles and search for the network again. Here's How to Remove Stored Wireless Network Profiles for XP, Vista, and Windows 7

    If you can connect this way, then add the encryption, WPA or WPA2 is vastly preferred, and try to connect again.
     
  3. green_fairy

    green_fairy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Great, i removed the password and cleared my network survey list. I am able to wirelessly connect now, thanks.

    I would like to go in and set a new password. i am considering leaving it unsecured and using MAC filtering. Or should i just implement a WPA2?
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,189
    First Name:
    Terry
    WPA2-PSK with AES is the strongest, but you'll probably find at least one device doesn't support it. Try WPA-PSK with TKIP for the greatest chance of all devices supporting it.
     
  5. green_fairy

    green_fairy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Great, thanks. I got the password set.

    My wireless network drops a lot. My airport reads it has full signal and i'm connected, however, the page never resolves. The favicon of google.com will display and the address bar has a quarter progress and gets stuck, never resolving.

    I can plug in my ethernet and get a signal/connection. It's just the wireless i cant manage to pages to load with.

    Thanks.
     
  6. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,241
    First Name:
    Cody
    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista or Windows 7

    Start, All Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands, each followed by the Enter key:

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults: netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults: netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  7. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    A stack repair isn't called for if the wired connection works.

    Let's see this.


    Download and run this Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector, click the Networks link on the upper left and paste a screen shot of that screen here. Note that this application requires NET Framework to run. If you get an error about a missing function, download and install NET Framework. For machines with no Internet connection, download this NET Framework 3.5 Full Package on another machine and transfer it with removable media to the problem machine.


    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file. To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/939303

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice