1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

wireless says connected, but can't get anywhere online unless wired

Discussion in 'Networking' started by bluestocking, Aug 31, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bluestocking

    bluestocking Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    My computer (an HP Pavilion running Windows XP Pro) has no problems connecting to and then using other wireless networks not in my apartment, but when I try to go on our wireless, it tells me I'm connected, the signal is amazing, etc, but I can't actually get anywhere online. But when I'm plugged in to the router, I have no problems accessing the web. The other computers (Macs) in the apartment have no problem accessing the wireless in the same spot as my computer, and accessing the web.

    We just installed a new router because we were having problems with the old one. (The new one is an Airport Extreme.) However, I was having this problem with the old router as well.

    I saw a similar question to mine posted earlier today, but I checked my wireless properties, and I have checked off (and it's been checked off) the option to optain an IP address and a DHCP server automatically.

    I called HP and they had me do the usual - unplug the router, the modem, restore manual settings by hitting F10, make sure Windows Zero Configuration (I think that's the name) was running. Nothing doing.

    Thanks in advance for your help!

    Edited to add: I saw another post with the same problem, and successfully reset my Winsock to the default, but when I tried resetting the other thing (the TCP/IP settings), it didn't show that it had worked, it simply started another prompt...
     
  2. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    Is your router set to use encryption?
    Which type?

    Be sure your wi fi card is set to use the same encryption type & verify you are using the correct key.

    Best of success.

    RF123
     
  3. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    bluestocking:
    You told us a lot. Good job. By using the ethernet cable, you evaluated the tcp / ip stack of your computer. You told us that your browser and the files it uses to access the internet are working.

    start > run
    type: cmd
    Left click "ok".
    A black screen with white font will appear.

    type: cd\
    press: enter

    type: ipconfig /all
    [ note space between fig and /
    What is the IP address of your wireless card?

    RF123
     
  4. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    Go to the wi fi card manufacturer's web site.

    Look for the latest driver.

    RF123
     
  5. bluestocking

    bluestocking Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    I don't have a wireless card, it's internal, but I'm using Intel ProSet Wireless 2200BG and although I attempted to install new drivers, I don't know how to tell if the installation was successful.

    I set the router to WEP 128 bit protection, but when I click on the network name and hit properties, it tells me authentification level is WPA2 Personal and data encryption is AES CCMP. So when I change the profile to reflect that, it still doesn't work. When you say using the correct key, are you referring to the password? Because I am definitely using the correct password, since I set it up myself.

    Here's what I got when I hit ipconfig \all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Tevye
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : nyc.rr.com
    nyc.rr.com

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : nyc.rr.com
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Eth
    ernet NIC
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0A-E4-D6-40-5D
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.1.200
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.1.1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, September 01, 2007 12:25:3
    8 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, September 01, 2007 4:25:38
    AM

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : nyc.rr.com
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 2200BG Network
    Connection
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-12-F0-DB-1C-C0
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.1.198
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.1.1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, September 01, 2007 12:25:3
    8 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, September 01, 2007 4:25:38
    AM
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Well, that IPCONFIG indicates you are connected to a wireless network.

    Try these simple tests.

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

    PING 216.109.112.135

    Tell us the results.

    PING yahoo.com

    Tell us the results.
     
  7. bluestocking

    bluestocking Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    PING 216.109.112.135

    Pinging 216.109.112.135 with 32 bytes of data:

    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 216.109.112.135:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    PING yahoo.com
    Ping request could not find host yahoo.com. Please check the name and try again.
     
  8. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Let's see an IPCONFIG /ALL from a working machine connecting to the same router.
     
  9. bluestocking

    bluestocking Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    They're all macs - what do I do? (How do I run that on a mac?) Also, does it have to be one that's connecting to the wireless, or is wired ok?
     
  10. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Let's try a stack repair.

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2.

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.


    I'd like to see the IPCONFIG data from any other computer, wired or wireless.
     
  11. bluestocking

    bluestocking Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    I'd already tried that - and it shows me that WINSOCK has been reset, but it doesn't give me any notification when I reset TCP/IP - should it?

    I'll do it again, just in case.

    How do I get to the IP Config data on macs? I'm pretty unfamiliar with them.

    Thanks!
     
  12. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Nope, it just comes back to the command prompt, that's normal.

    I have no idea about the mac, though I'm sure there's a command to display.

    Try ifconfig -a at a command prompt in the MAC.
     
  13. bluestocking

    bluestocking Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Well I reset them both, restarted, and did a power cycle and nothing doing. I'll go see what I can find on the mac (its owner isn't around right now, so I can't ask her)
     
  14. bluestocking

    bluestocking Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    This is all I could get from one of them, and it's just wired. The 2nd mac is a newer model where there's no tower, and I can't even figure out how to turn it on! Oh man.

    Automatic:

    Active Location: Yes
    Services:
    Built-in Ethernet:
    Type: Ethernet
    BSD Device Name: en0
    Hardware (MAC) Address: 00:30:65:77:f5:d2
    IPv4:
    Configuration Method: DHCP
    IPv6:
    Configuration Method: Automatic
    AppleTalk:
    Configuration Method: Node
    Proxies:
    FTP Proxy Enabled: 0
    FTP Passive Mode: 1
    Gopher Proxy Enabled: 0
    HTTP Proxy Enabled: 0
    HTTPS Proxy Enabled: 0
    RTSP Proxy Enabled: 0
    SOCKS Proxy Enabled: 0
    Built-in FireWire:
    Type: FireWire
    BSD Device Name: fw0
    Hardware (MAC) Address: 00:30:65:ff:fe:77:f5:d2
    IPv4:
    Configuration Method: DHCP
    IPv6:
    Configuration Method: Automatic
    AppleTalk:
    Configuration Method: Node
    Proxies:
    Proxy Configuration Method: 2
    ExcludeSimpleHostnames: 0
    FTP Passive Mode: 1
    Auto Discovery Enabled: 0
     
  15. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Hmm... that really doesn't do it, I'm interested in the IP address it's getting from the router.

    Have you disabled the router's encryption to see if you can connect that way. This still has the earmarks of an encryption key mismatch...
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/618070

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice