1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Wireless Setup

Discussion in 'Linux and Unix' started by inditech, Feb 9, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. inditech

    inditech Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    (Already posted this on the Kubuntu forum also, but thought I would try here too! No disrespect to any replies on the K forum people!)

    Hello,

    Wonder if anyone can help me.

    I had an old Thinkpad 240 laptop going spare, so I thought I would plunge into the world of Linux.

    Downloaded the latest Kubuntu distro (not the Beta one) Edgy Eft.

    I must say that I was impressed with the ease that it installed, and whilst my little 'ol laptop is not the greatest, it runs pretty well! LOVE the fuzzy clock! :)

    Everything went fine, except for my WiFi.

    I have a PCMCIA 802.11g card, and from the FCCID I *think* its RALINK RT2500 (made by Edimax), but I can't be sure as my knowledge of Linux is rather newbie...

    I can see the adaptor under system settings, but when I try and enable it I get an error saying that it could not and has to be done manually.

    Now coming from Windowz (yes I know - groan), my first thought was drivers. Therefore I hit google and found what I thought were the correct drivers.

    I managed to get the TAR file, stuck it on a pen drive, and transferred it to a directory on the linux lappy (and wow, how easy my pen drive was recognised!).

    Now I am a bit stuck. It came with basic instructions, and I managed to unTAR the image, and run various commands that I now cannot remember. I do remember submitting a MAKE and MAKE INSTALL command that worked (after logging in as root), but it still is not recognised.

    Is anyone out there willing to push me in the right direction, or give me some *basic* instruction, or tell me I am being stupid! I don't mind!

    Thank you so much in advance.

    Pete
     
  2. comprookie20

    comprookie20

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    159
  3. inditech

    inditech Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Hi there,

    That link did not work, although it did take me to roughly the right area. I dug around a bit and found a setup page for the RT2500. Still no joy.

    Basically, what I do is go into System Settings --> Network Settings --> Enable admin mode.

    Then I click on RA0 (Kubunutu can see the card) and click Enable interface. I then get an error:

    "There was an error changing the device's state. You will have to do it manually"

    Ok I thought. Click Configure interface. Enter my SSID/WEP etc. OK --> Apply --> Enable --> Same error.

    Interestingly, my wep key is Hex, but under the configure option, it keeps changing back to ASCII and I can't seem to get this to stick!

    Any other thoughts?
     
  4. comprookie20

    comprookie20

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    159
    What happens when you;
    sudo modprobe rt2500
    sudo iwconfig
    If the interface shows up as ra0
    sudo iwconfig ra0 essid whatever
    sudo iwconfig ra0 key "another whatever"
    sudo dhclient ra0
     
  5. inditech

    inditech Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Ok,

    I will put the command output here, but firstly things have changed somewhat.

    Firstly, if I use the Wireless Assistant under the internet menu, it see my router, but there are no lights on the PCM card??? However, if I follow this through, the lights sometimes come on but I get a connection failure. If I then (bizarelly) right-click --> Forget Settings, the lights come on and stay on. Then going back into System Settings --> Network, the card then says enabled.

    Then! I go back into the Wireless Assistant and ask to connect, this time (despite having told it to forget settings) it does not present the wizard it simply says connecting. I have finally managed to get a connection, but it certainly is not stable.

    Therefore I sumise that the card is installed to the system, but I am just being a newbie and rather stupid in setting it up!

    The command output (running as root - or the kubuntu equiv):

    sudo modprobe rt2500
    nothing at all - returns me to konsole prompt

    sudo iwconfig
    lo no wireless extensions.

    ra0 RT2500 Wireless ESSID:"my_essid"
    Mode:Managed Frequency=2.412GHz Access point: XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX
    Bit Rate:54 Mb/s Tx-Power:0 dBm
    RTS thr:eek:ff Fragment thr:eek:ff
    Link Quality=50/100 Signal Level=-69 dBm Noise level:-204 dBm
    Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
    Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

    If the interface shows up as ra0
    sudo iwconfig ra0 essid whatever
    no output - I assumed the word whatever to be replaced with my essid, tried with and without quotes

    sudo iwconfig ra0 key "another whatever"
    invalid argument "xxx" where xxx is my essid. Again tried with and without quotes.

    sudo dhclient ra0
    Too much output to type here (on windoze!), but the highlights that I think are relevent:

    There is already a pid file /var/run/dhclient.pid with pid 4684
    killed old client process, removed pid file
    Listening on LPF/mac add
    Sending on LPF/mac add
    Sending on Socket/fallback
    DHCPREQUEST on ra0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67
    DHCPACK from internal router add
    bound to xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx - renewal in x seconds

    So therefore I am connected now - but how can I make this persistent!

    Thank you very much for all your help so far!

    Pete
     
  6. comprookie20

    comprookie20

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    159
    If you are connected you and can get on the net then you don't need a key so we won't get into that. If you want to set it up for boot then;
    edit /etc/network/interfaces and put something like;
    Code:
     
    iface lo inet loopback
     
    iface ra0 inet dhcp
    wireless-essid XXXXXX
     
    auto ra0 
    If your losing your connection then you may need to install the current rt2500 driver. I don't use ubuntu/kubuntu so this can explain better;
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/WifiDocs/Driver/RalinkRT2500
     
  7. inditech

    inditech Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Actually I do have a WEP key, I must have just forgotten to include it in my reply.

    Are you able to let me know the additional I need to put in the interfaces file?

    Sorry to keep being a pain!
     
  8. comprookie20

    comprookie20

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    159
    something like;
    Code:
    iface ra0 inet dhcp 
            pre-up ifconfig ra0 up
            pre-up ifconfig ra0 down
            pre-up ifconfig ra0 up
            pre-up ifconfig ra0 down
            pre-up iwconfig ra0 essid "myssid"
            pre-up iwconfig ra0 mode Managed
            pre-up iwpriv ra0 set AuthMode=WPAPSK
            pre-up iwpriv ra0 set EncrypType=TKIP
            pre-up iwpriv ra0 set WPAPSK="A shared key"
            pre-up ifconfig ra0 up
    if that won't work you may need;
    wpasupplicant
    also when you get no output from the commands that is good, means it worked.
    to see if modprobe worked;
    lsmod
    to see if iwconfig worked;
    iwconfig
    etc
     
  9. inditech

    inditech Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks - if its WEP rather than WPA, then should the line:

    pre-up iwpriv ra0 set AuthMode=WPAPSK

    read:

    pre-up iwpriv ra0 set AuthMode=WEP

    Don't want to muck anything up at this stage!

    Cheers
     
  10. comprookie20

    comprookie20

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    159
    That was for wpa so for wep;
    Code:
    iface ra0 inet dhcp 
            pre-up ifconfig ra0 up
            pre-up ifconfig ra0 down
            pre-up ifconfig ra0 up
            pre-up ifconfig ra0 down
            pre-up iwconfig ra0 essid "myssid"
            pre-up iwconfig ra0 mode Managed
            pre-up iwconfig ra0 key xxxxxxxx
            pre-up ifconfig ra0 up
    try the commands first to make sure they work before you edit the file;

    ifconfig ra0 down
    ifconfig ra0 up
    iwconfig ra0 essid "whatever"
    etc
    etc
     
  11. inditech

    inditech Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks,

    should "face" read "iface" in the first line?

    Pete
     
  12. comprookie20

    comprookie20

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    159
    yes that was my paste err ....
     
  13. inditech

    inditech Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    :)

    No worries

    The up/down commands a really useful - trying to figure out how to turn the card on!

    Trying now - laptop is old and slow......
     
  14. inditech

    inditech Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    No joy I am afraid. It does not seem to be running the interfaces file on startup. The commands typed at a konsole seem to work, but not on startup.

    Having said that, even after the card inits, I still cannot get on internet...

    You have helped me a lot thank you, don't want to keep pestering you, so I will try and figure out the rest myself.

    Unless you can suggest a better distro? My laptop is quite old, and I think Kubuntu is a bit resource hungry.

    Pete
     
  15. comprookie20

    comprookie20

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    159
    You should be able to get wireless to work, check to see if you got an address;
    ifconfig
    what does it say about ra0
    route -n
    should show your router or modem
    if its a dns issue
    cat /etc/resolv.conf
    anything there
    and its no problem that is how you learn.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/542671

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice