1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Wireless to Ethernet LAN

Discussion in 'Networking' started by pushieb, Sep 8, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. pushieb

    pushieb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    This is, perhaps, an extremely silly question, easy to answer as the Techguy says! I have been using a desktop with Ethernet LAN (Landline) for years. Now, I have a Dell Studio 15 Laptop with Wireless output signal. My question is, How do I connect the two, so that I can use the Laptop too through my land-line broadband connection? Do I use just a wireless router in between? Any type of Wireless Router, or, any specific type? Do I need to change anything in my desktop LAN setup?:eek:
     
  2. Nemo2000

    Nemo2000

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    225
    I'm not clear what exactly you mean by "Ethernet LAN (Landline) ". :confused:

    To start with, we need to understand exactly how your existing desktop connect to your broadband connection - eg is it connected to a LAN, and if so how is that LAN connected to the broadband, or does it have a modem (USB?) connected to the broadband etc.
     
  3. pushieb

    pushieb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    i am sorry, i am really clumsy in my description. The Ethernet LAN card of my desktop is connected through the telephone landline of the local Broadband ISP provider through a DSL modem - model: STERLITE, SAM300AX.
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    The STERLITE, SAM300AX is a modem/router and has an Ethernet connection for the computer or other devices. I'd use a standard router and configure it as below.


    Connecting two (or more) SOHO broadband routers together.

    Note: The "primary" router can be an actual router, a software gateway like Microsoft Internet Connection Sharing, or a server connection that has the capability to supply more than one IP address using DHCP server capability. No changes are made to the primary "router" configuration.

    Configure the IP address of the secondary router(s) to be in the same subnet as the primary router, but out of the range of the DHCP server in the primary router. For instance DHCP server addresses 192.168.0.2 through 192.168.0.100, I'd assign the secondary router 192.168.0.254 as it's IP address, 192.168.0.253 for another router, etc.

    Note: Do this first, as you will have to reboot the computer to connect to the router again for the remaining changes.

    Disable the DHCP server in the secondary router.

    Setup the wireless section just the way you would if it was the primary router, channels, encryption, etc.

    Connect from the primary router's LAN port to one of the LAN ports on the secondary router. If there is no uplink port and neither of the routers have auto-sensing ports, use a cross-over cable. Leave the WAN port unconnected!

    This procedure bypasses the routing function (NAT layer) and configures the router as a switch (or wireless access point for wireless routers).

    For reference, here's a link to a Typical example config using a Netgear router
     
  5. pushieb

    pushieb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks very much JohnWill. I will certainly try to implement your thoughtful suggestions -- once I procure the hardware to follow your suggested procedure.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/859143

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice