1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Wireless VPN with PC?

Discussion in 'Apple Mac' started by dzonko, May 2, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dzonko

dzonko Thread Starter

I'm new to Mac (~2 months ago) and trying to figure out if I can set up a wireless VPN directly between a MacBook Pro and a laptop running WinXP2 - i.e., without a router or any such thing. Is this possible and if so can you tell me how? Thanks much.

2. Synt4xError

Synt4xError

Now why would you want to do a VPN connection between the two? I don't know MACs really but are these computers on the same network? Would you be away from home trying to access one of the two laptops?

I have my server at home running VPN, I use this to VPN to my house to retrieve files I need to present to people if I forget my thumb drive.

Maybe with what you're trying to do, there is a different & easier way?

Thanks,
    Synt4x

3. dzonko

dzonko Thread Starter

Maybe I'm using the wrong terminology. There is no network. There's one dialup connection they share. (I'm in South Africa.) All I want is for the two computers to be able to communicate with each other without having to buy additional hardware - basically just to be able to browse and share on the fly. I did seem to manage to connect them once (although I can't remember now how I did it) but couldn't figure out how to actually *do* anything via the connection.

4. Synt4xError

Synt4xError

Well you were referencing to something that you don't need to use.