1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

wireless won't connect, can't renew ip address because media disconnected, need help!

Discussion in 'Networking' started by mcginr, May 8, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mcginr

    mcginr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    I am using an HP compaq 8710p, with windows xp. My wireless adapter is Intel Wireless Wifi Link 4965AGN. I moved to a new house so am using a new wireless for the first time. My laptop detects the wireless (and other wireless connections nearby) but will not connect. My iphone is connected to the wireless, and the wired connection to my laptop is fine. So the problem is my laptop.

    When I try to renew ip this is the message I get;

    C:\Documents and Settings\user>ipconfig/release
    Windows IP Configuration
    No operation can be performed on Wireless Network Connection 4 while it has its
    media disconnected.
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 3:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection 4:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    C:\Documents and Settings\user>ipconfig/renew
    Windows IP Configuration
    No operation can be performed on Wireless Network Connection 4 while it has its
    media disconnected.
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 3:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.13
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection 4:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected


    This is a list of some things I have tried to fix it, I have rebooted after each attempt, none have worked
    1) uninstalled just the wireless network adapter
    2) uninstalling all adapters.
    3) Restarted Wireless Zero Configuration
    4) Unclicked internet connection sharing on Local Area Connection
    5) Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log
    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog
    6) downloaded Wifi Link 4965AGN from intel website and reinstalled it.

    Please can anyone help me?
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,556
    Do you have SP3? If not, why not?

    What encryption are you using? Does your adapter support that encryption?
     
  3. mcginr

    mcginr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    yes I have SP3
    sorry I have no idea what encryption I am using, how do I check this?
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,931
    post an xirrus screen shot - and tell us the name of the wireless you are trying to connect to
    also post an ipconfig /all

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.


    http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
    Direct link to the program is here http://wpc.475a.edgecastcdn.net/00475A/XirrusWiFiInspectorSetup.1.2.0.exe

    {If the above link does not work heres another link http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html}

    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector/xirruswifiinspectorguide1-2-0.aspx

    post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better.

    If you are using the Mac OS then use http://www.istumbler.net/
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results in a reply here

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results to notepad and then automatically open notepad.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results to a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
    Now go back to the forum - reply and then right click in the reply box and paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. mcginr

    mcginr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    xirrus screenshot attached, my wifi is UPC0046206
     

    Attached Files:

  6. mcginr

    mcginr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Windows IP Configuration



    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : user-41d6ce290e

    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :

    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown

    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No



    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection 4:



    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected

    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) Wireless WiFi Link 4965AGN

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1F-3B-08-93-17



    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 3:



    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) 82566MM Gigabit Network Connection

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1B-38-F3-F2-D0

    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes

    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.13

    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0

    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1

    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 89.101.160.4

    89.101.160.5

    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, May 09, 2012 2:54:23 PM

    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, May 16, 2012 2:54:23 PM
     
  7. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,931
    you are using WPA2 encryption

    what security suite do you have or ever had on the PC like a trial version of Norton, mcafee

    try logging into the router and remove/disable the security and see if that will now connect

    try a tcp/ip reset again and post back the results


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2/SP3

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands:

    Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults, type: netsh int ip reset reset.log
    and press enter

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults, type: netsh winsock reset catalog
    and press enter

    Reboot the machine.

    Please note and post back - if you receive the message
    Access is Denied

    Post back the results here
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  8. mcginr

    mcginr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    I have avasti free antivirus

    try logging into the router and remove/disable the security ---- sorry how do I do this?
     
  9. mcginr

    mcginr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    ignore last question-- I am trying to log into the router but don't know what the username is
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,931
    make and model of your router

    if you type 192.168.0.1 into a web browser - ideally Internet Explorer
    that will take you to the login screen for the router
    Now depending on make and model
    the default username and password varies from admin for both to just admin and password blank

    then you would navigate to the wireless section - security and disable the security
     
  11. mcginr

    mcginr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    ok I'm in now, but can't find security in the wireless section?
     
  12. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,931
    as requested - whats the make and exact model of the router
     
  13. mcginr

    mcginr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    these are the different sections under wireless, but none of them appear to have an option to disable security
    Radio
    Primary Network
    Access Control
    Advanced
    Bridging
    WMM
    © - Thomson - 2007
     
  14. mcginr

    mcginr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    it is a thomson TWG870UIR
     
  15. mcginr

    mcginr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    in the Primary Network section there is a heading in bold "Automatic Security Configuration". there is a dropdown menu beneath it with the options "disabled" and "WPS", is this what I should be looking for?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1052403