1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Wireless won't connect to laptop.

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Chikita21, Jan 5, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Chikita21

    Chikita21 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    (I'm writing on my iPad, so please forgive me of any typos.)

    The wireless won't work with my laptop. It's perfectly fine on my iPad and my phone, as well as my room mates' devices.
    I've got a Fujitsu Lifebook AH532 notebook purchased in August 2012 running in Windows 7, and this internet issue has only been happening with the router here where I'm living for university.
    The connection shows up, but when I try to connect it, it gives me the "Windows was unable to connect to [ssid here]" error message. I get no farther than the loading circle when attempting to connect. Troubleshooting it leads me to investigate the router. EDIT: it has now told me there is a problem with wireless adapter or access point. I do not know what an access point is. EDIT2: The wireless adapter sometimes says "Attempting to authenticate" but then gives up after a few minutes.

    Things I have tried:
    Resetting the router (resulted in working Internet for about four hours)
    Flushing DNS
    Restarting computer
    Resetting wireless adapter
    System restore
    Removing network and manually adding it again
    Disabling Windows firewall and adjusting the settings and all that.

    I kind of don't want to be fiddling around with the router because it's not mine, it's the landlady's. I'm unsure if the issue is with my laptop or the router, but it's probably something between them. It works fine with every other wireless connection I've tried, which I sadly cannot get to until Monday.

    This has been going on since October in increasing instances. It used to go out for just under 48 hours, but now it's completely random and barely ever works.

    I don't know how successful I'd be in getting the ipconfig /all information on to here, since I can't get to any other Internet connections until Monday. I have no idea how to change the encryption settings for the router, and, like I said, I don't want to fiddle with that anyway.

    I'm getting quite frustrated with this. Any help will be great, but I can't guarantee I can carry out what you suggest.
     
  2. gurutech

    gurutech

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,960
    It sounds like the encryption method is different on your laptop than it is on the router (aka "accesspoint") and your ipad.

    I would check the settings on the ipad (but don't change anything), to see what the encryption is set for, then check the wireless connection on your laptop to make sure it's the same.
     
  3. Chikita21

    Chikita21 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    That's the WPA, WPA2, WEP, etc., right?

    I'm not sure where to check it/find it on my iPad.
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,886
    First Name:
    Terry
    Make sure you have the latest wireless driver. If it is the integrated adapter get the driver from the laptop manufacturer's web site. If you already have the correct driver reinstall it anyhow in case the installed instance is corrupted.

    What firewall or security suite is, or ever was, on the system. Be sure to include any pre-installed "trial" one.

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista and 7 and 8.

    Start - All Programs - Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt. [For Windows 8: <Windows Logo> + x - Command Prompt(Admin)]

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  5. Chikita21

    Chikita21 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    How do I know if I have the latest driver? Also would that affect just one indiidual router, or others? The wireless works with other routers, but not this one.

    I don't know what firewalls have been or are on it. It came with Avast, which I uninstalled, and then installed AVG free.

    I have now done the commands you suggested, rebooted the laptop, and it still won't connect.
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,886
    First Name:
    Terry
    The way I do it is to compare the installed driver with the latest (correct) one. Or, usually I just install the correct one w/o worrying about whether I'm reinstalling.

    Sometimes.

    Run the Avast Removal Tool.
     
  7. Chikita21

    Chikita21 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    The Internet came back on for a bit, then went out, and is now on again (for my laptop), so I'm checking to make sure everything is updated now.

    I searched for an update for the driver, and it (apparently) updated. I'm unsure if this has fixed the problem, but hopefully it has. I wouldn't say the problem is solved, because the wireless may fail on me again.

    Also, I ran the Avast Removal Tool and it has been completely removed now.
     
  8. Chikita21

    Chikita21 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    It did not solve the issue.
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,886
    First Name:
    Terry
    For a while you could connect to the network, but now you cannot?

    You now have the latest wireless driver from the laptop manufacturer's web site?
     
  10. Chikita21

    Chikita21 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Yes to all of that. I was connected to the internet for a few hours, and in that time I got the latest driver, and now I can no longer connect to the internet.
     
  11. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,886
    First Name:
    Terry
    You still connect to the network, but no internet access?

    Open a (black) Command Prompt window:
    Hold the Windows logo key and press r; in the Run box type cmd and click on OK.

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  12. Chikita21

    Chikita21 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    I can't make a connection to the network. It isn't that it's connected and I don't have Internet access; my laptop won't actually connect.

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Zephyr
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 68-5D-43-62-9C-B4
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 5C-9A-D8-68-88-02
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) Centrino(R) Wireless-N 2230
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 68-5D-43-62-9C-B0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{9D620B93-1571-4335-B40C-9760AEECD723}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{770A5138-71E1-416B-9397-A854772C582F}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{B8A801DC-8C6E-4E63-B27C-606A6B8130DB}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #4
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
     
  13. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,886
    First Name:
    Terry
    Delete the wireless profile and try again to connect.

    Please attach a screen shot of the Networks page (don't collapse the Radar, Connection or Signal History) of the Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector. If you need help with that see TSG Posting a Screenshot. FWIW to take screen shots with Windows 7 or Vista I prefer to use the built-in Snipping Tool.
     
  14. Chikita21

    Chikita21 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Removed the network and created it again, and it didn't change anything.
    I can't download the program until tomorrow.

    I have a question. Would the DHCP settings on my laptop be affecting it? My iPad has it set to a DHCP IP address and has never had issues with it.
     
  15. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,886
    First Name:
    Terry
    What does that mean? I understand neither the "Removed" nor the "created" part.

    On the computer delete the wireless profile and try again to connect to the network.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1083938

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice