1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Wireless works, ethernet doesn't....

Discussion in 'Networking' started by hpollop, Jul 22, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. hpollop

    hpollop Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Hello all, just joined...first post here.

    I'm having major network connection issues. This one is baffleing, and that's putting it simple. I'm not computer illiterate by any means and I don't consider myself a newbie either. With that said however, I'm no guru but do know my stuff somewhat.

    Here's my dilemna...and I'd like to go ahead and thank you all for you help ahead of time. :)

    I'm running a Windows Vista desktop and laptop. There's internet sharing via Netgear Wireless G router (WGR614) and ISP is Comcast. Wireless seems to be fine however ethernet is acting up.

    I'll try simplifying this possibly by listing my observations:

    -Wireless is fine.
    -Modem to router (via ethernet which is really weird) is fine. Router shows it's receiving a connection and it no doubt is as the router's broadcasting wireless signals...and strong ones at that.
    -Laptop and Xbox 360 pick up strong wirless signals extremely well and perform as such. The laptop surfs the net without any latency, same goes for the Xbox 360 online gaming. In games where your connection strength is displayed (Call of Duty 4 multiplayer) the bars are all filled denoting max signal reception.

    ****Here's where the problem really lies******

    -Can't connect desktop or laptop (with wi-fi capability off) via ethernet through any of the router's four LAN ports.
    -Can't connect via ethernet DIRECTLY from modem to desktop or laptop.
    -In case of faulty ethernet cable from router to desktop or router to laptop, I swapped out another ethernet cable.


    Questions to self are:

    -If it were faulty ethernet cables then the router wouldn't display internet status and neither would the router be able to transmit wireless signals (strong ones at that) since afterall...the router is receiving it's internet feed from the modem via ethernet cable.
    -Why aren't desktop and laptop able to connect to internet via ethernet directly from modem yet the router's able to connect and even relay that signal via wireless?
    -Where possibly can the problem lie, desktop/laptop, router or modem?




    Perplexing to say the least, at least as far as I'm concerned. :confused:
     
  2. MeAmRussian

    MeAmRussian

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Messages:
    107
    Hello,

    Are you sure that have you have all the proper ethernet drivers installed?
     
  3. hpollop

    hpollop Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    To be honest with you, I wouldn't know. Fill me in, if you would please. How can I find out if the drivers are outdated and what steps would I take to update them if this is in fact the issue or one of? For the record, it was all working properly until all of a sudden this problem rose. I find it strange that both the desktop and laptop are behaving the same.

    I'll try the ethernet capability at my nephews house for good measure. He's got a router similar to mine. If ethernet to the laptop work on his router than this should eliminate the possibility of network drivers being outdated, correct?
     
  4. MeAmRussian

    MeAmRussian

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Messages:
    107
    Yep, that's correct. However, since you say that it WAS already working properly, then that most likely means your ethernet drivers are fine (unless they were somehow removed). Go to your laptop manufacturer and download the latest driver just in case. If this doesn't solve the problem, I'm out of ideas. Hopefully someone else on here can help you out :)

    You should, however, try plugging it in in another locations, like you nephew's as you stated. If it doesn't work there, then it's either 1) the driver problem mentioned above or 2) your ethernet port is broken.

    Good luck.
     
  5. hpollop

    hpollop Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Okay, thanks for your input. Connecting it to my nephews source should answer those two scenarios you mention. Not to make it sound like I'm second guessing your reasoning or anything cause I reallly appreciate the time you've invested in partaking in the discussion...I simply can't help but wonder what the odds are that both the desktop and laptop would have their ethernet ports broken. Even if the odds are slim....the possibility is there however, I guess.

    Thanks again! (y)
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type devmgmt.msc

    Please respond to all the following steps.

    1. Under Network adapters, please tell me all the devices listed.
    2. Are there any devices under Network adapters that have a red x displayed?
    3. Also, are there any devices anywhere in the Device Manager display with yellow ? or ! displayed?



    Let's see this as well.

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,169
    First Name:
    Terry
    When you switch from router to computer connected to the modem you have to power cycle (unplug for 1/2 a minute or so) the modem. If you did not do so that could explain why a directly connected computer did not work.

    I think that ipconfig /all would be most useful if you were connected by both wireless and ethernet to the router.
     
  8. hpollop

    hpollop Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    JohnWill got it right...my ethernet port/card is bad. My PC is still under warranty so I've taken it to them to have that replaced. After doing those diagnostic checks JohnWill suggested, I've gotten the laptop to work (e-card disabled) and the desktop, as aforementioned needs repair/replacement of the e-port/card.


    Thank you all. I truly appreciate it. :)
     
  9. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Glad we could help. :)

    You can mark your own threads solved using the [​IMG] button at the top of the page in the upper left corner.© :)
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/732888

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice