1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

wiring older computer

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by powerguy218, Oct 4, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. powerguy218

    powerguy218 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Working on older computer from spare parts, where do i plug in the wire's? ( POWER SW, H.D.D.LED, POWER LED,RESET SW)from the face plate of the computer. thanks mike in vegas
     
  2. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Hi and welcome. If you'll tell us the make/model of the motherboard, I'm sure someone can dig up a user's manual or board layout photo.

    There's little jumper pins that should be marked on the board. Not all boards will have a position for every one of them.
     
  3. powerguy218

    powerguy218 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    mother board in hand no name that i see it has a intel celeron processor '98 in front of it but on back it has 98 1003,but maybe im not looking in the right area.
     
  4. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Any FCC numbers? Sometimes they hide the models pretty good....just look everywhere on it.
     
  5. pronute

    pronute

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3,956
    ThatÂ’s not much help, the front panel connectors are usually marked on the board a magnifying lens helps it should be an inline double row of riser pins on the motherboard close to the front. Also look for the model number of the Motherboard around and in-between the expansion slots if you find it post it here.
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    You might go here http://www.embeddedlogic.com/TH99/ and check to see if they have info on your MB. You can download the entire database or use it online. Be aware that the 50mb file expands to over a gigabyte! :)
     
  7. Ash_11

    Ash_11

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Messages:
    464
  8. powerguy218

    powerguy218 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    thank you all,learned alot. thanks mike
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/169470

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice