1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved With HDMI, lost control of color and tint monitor settings

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Pbman, Jul 4, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Pbman

    Pbman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2001
    Messages:
    569
    I'm trying an Insignia TV as computer monitor. For the most part it looks ok, but I lost control of the color, tint and sharpness in the tv menu. They are all grayed out. Insignia's tech support has been really helpful trying to solve this but we reached a dead end. If I unplug the HDMI I get them back . With the HDMI unplugged , I can set the settings, but when plugged back in my settings are bypassed.

    I have a AMD Radion R7 200 series.


    Any ideas?

    Thanks
     
  2. 2twenty2

    2twenty2

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    28,771
    Insignia model number?
     
  3. Pbman

    Pbman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2001
    Messages:
    569
    picture sent
     

    Attached Files:

  4. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,356
    First Name:
    Allan
  5. Pbman

    Pbman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2001
    Messages:
    569
    That's the issue, well isn't that a mistake software wise.

    Thanks for taking the time!!
     
  6. Pbman

    Pbman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2001
    Messages:
    569
    Actually I switched to VGA and the picture is better.
     
  7. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,356
    First Name:
    Allan
    Maybe you could adjust the HDMI picture at the computer end (if you think it's worth the effort).
     
  8. Pbman

    Pbman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2001
    Messages:
    569
    I tried but the Windows and AMD settings don't do much. But, overall the VGA usage has seems to cover up some of the issues with HDMI. The HDMI was over bright and there was shadowing around the letters and the Outlook windows were washed out

    Thanks for all the help!
     
  9. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,356
    First Name:
    Allan
    You're welcome, I'm glad you found a usable workaround. :)

    (Please click on the [Mark Solved] button at the top of your page if you're finished with this thread).
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1229529

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice