1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

WLAN down

Discussion in 'Networking' started by crawford43, Apr 23, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. crawford43

    crawford43 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    My WLAN will not connect when i press the button it says No Wireless Device,I checked Device Manager and the only thing in my Network Adapters is NVIDA nForce10/100/1000 Mbps Ethernet#2.When i do a search it finds Broadcom 802,11g Network Adapter and when i read its script it says Device Not Found The Device may not be present or could have been ejected/unplugged from the system.I am at a loss please help:confused::mad:
     
  2. Saga Lout

    Saga Lout

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    3,791
    If this is a laptop, sometimes there's a physical switch which is hard to see but easy to turn off. Other systems have a Function key to use in conjunction with the Fn key to the left of your spacebar. Does any of the Function keys have the little wireless icon on it?

     
  3. crawford43

    crawford43 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Yes tryed it it wont light up and just says no wireless device
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    What's the exact make/model of the machine? If a laptop, have you opened the access door on the bottom and made sure the wireless adapter is firmly seated?
     
  5. crawford43

    crawford43 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Yes i opened it up and took it out and wiped all the contacts and blew out the socket and replaced making sure it was seated well.I have an Acer Aspire 9300 with a Broadcom BCM94311MCG WiFi card.But when i look in the Network Adaptors there is only NVIDA nForce 10/100/1000 Mbps Ethernet#2.I do have broadcom 802,11g Network Adaptor installed but it is not in Device manager :confused:
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,917
    First Name:
    Terry
    Check in the BIOS (Setup) to see if it possibly got disabled. If it is already enabled in the BIOS, or is missing, then probably the adapter is dead.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/918746

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice