WLAN issue - WiFi can't connect

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

bonobohead

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 10, 2013
Messages
17
Hi,


Having a WLAN problem with our Dell XPS 15 Z running Windows 7 Home Premium.

When I click on the network connections icon in the task bar, it lists only Dial-up and VPN, but gives no WiFi options. This problem started several months ago but I’ve ignored it until now. The problem is not our router, as I am currently connected to our wifi network using on another laptop. The problem laptop is able to connect to the internet through the router with an ethernet cable. If I go to Network Connections in the control panel, it lists “Wireless Network Connection” (and indicates the hardware is Intel Centrino Advanced –N 6230).

Here are things I’ve tried to do so far (none of which has resolved the problem) :



- Ran MalwareBytes and AVG – no problems found.

- Disable and re-enable the Wireless Network Connection. Result: no change

- Diagnose the Wireless Network Connection. Result: “Problems found, the Windows wireless service is not running on this computer, Not fixed.”

- In Device Manager: checked the Intel adapter - says it is working properly. Tried updating the driver – says it’s the most up to date driver.

- Ran netsh winsock reset, int ipv4 reset, and int ipv6 reset and restarted the computer. Result: no change

- System restore. Looked into it but didn’t do it because all the saved restore points are after the problem started.

- Ran services.msc and tried to start the WLAN AutoConfig. Result: Error 1747 The authentivation service is unknown.

- Ran the System File Checker tool. Result: “…found corrupt files but was unable to fix some of them”. Checking the log, I searched for “cannot repair” but nothing comes up. Searching for “cannot” in the logs turns up some cases of “cannot verify component files for Microsoft-Windows-Security-Kerberos…”. Search for “corrupt” turns up nothing.

- Tried the things listed here http://www.justanswer.com/software/7fr8d-hello-again-molinari-i-question-you.html For the first set of suggestions - the “start” entries in the [FONT=&quot]Ndisuio folders were already at 3. Deleted text as instructed in [/FONT]"DependOnService" and “EapHost" and restarted the computer. Result: no change.


- For the second set of suggestions on that page (making changes to specific services in services.msc), I got the same exact results as that person, except that this fixed their problem but not mine. Notably, I could not find “Native wifi filter” or “NDIS usermode io protocol”, and for “Remote Access Auto Connection Manager” and “Remote Access Connection Manager” I get Error 1068 (The dependency service or group failed to start”. I then tried to start “Secure Socket Tunneling Protocol Service” as suggested. It says it “…started then stopped. Some services stop automatically if not in use by other services or programs”.


That's what I've tried.


I see that “Native wifi filter” or “NDIS usermode io protocol” are listed in the dependencies for the WLAN AutoConfig, and these 2 services are not showing up in my services list. Any chance this is part of the problem? If so, how do I resolve that? Any other suggestions?



Thanks in advance!
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
- Ran services.msc and tried to start the WLAN AutoConfig. Result: Error 1747 The authentivation service is unknown
- Ran the System File Checker tool. Result: “…found corrupt files but was unable to fix some of them”.
so these seem to be the two issues
if windows files are corrupt - may need to re-install windows

Dell also has a wireless manager
is this running
http://support.dell.com/support/edocs/network/p70008/EN/utility.htm

WLAN AutoConfig
right click on the service
then from the menu choose properties and now check the dependencies.

for each dependency entry - Check each of one of the dependencies and see which one is preventing the service from running/starting.
 

bonobohead

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 10, 2013
Messages
17
Thanks for the very quick reply.

The Dell Wireless Utility does not seem to be running, or installed for that matter.

As for the WLAN AutoConfig dependencies, the Extensible Authentication Protocol and Remote Procedure Call both seem to be running, but neither the Native Wifi Fillter nor the NDIS Usermode I/O Protocol can be found in the services list.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
but neither the Native Wifi Fillter nor the NDIS Usermode I/O Protocol can be found in the services list.
http://www.blackviper.com/windows-services/dhcp-client/

To verify that the dependency components are running. Follow the steps below:
• Click Start, Run and type DEVMGMT.MSC
• In the View menu, click Show hidden devices
• Double-click Non-Plug and Play drivers section
• Double-click the entry Native Wifi Fillter" and click the Driver tab
Whats the startup type set to ?
• Start the service. Note down the error message if any.

Similarly start the other driver namely:

NDIS Usermode I/O Protocol

Post back if all are started and any error messages

• Now check if you can start the DHCP client service.

also run fabar and post the log


------------------------------------------------------------------------
Services - Fabar Service Scanner, free

We would like to see some status information for each of the services on the PC goto

http://www.technibble.com/fabar-service-scanner/

and download the free scanner tool

Theres a Direct link to the program here
http://download.bleepingcomputer.com/farbar/FSS.exe

Now "double click" on the downloaded file to run the scanner , the scanner program will now open

tick all the options. and then click on scan

the scan results will open automatically in a seperate window in the notepad program.

Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results to a reply here
to do that:
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
all the text will be highlighted
Next
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
Now go back to the forum - reply and then right click in the reply box and paste

if you have any issues. A log file called FSS.txt will be created in the same directory as the program is run from.

------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

bonobohead

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 10, 2013
Messages
17
Both services were already running and working properly. There were no errors. Startup for both was set to "demand".

Here is the fabar log:

Farbar Service Scanner Version: 30-01-2013
Ran by Barbara (administrator) on 10-02-2013 at 15:05:32
Running from "C:\Users\Barbara\Downloads"
Windows 7 Home Premium Service Pack 1 (X64)
Boot Mode: Normal
****************************************************************

Internet Services:
============

Connection Status:
==============
Localhost is accessible.
LAN connected.
Attempt to access Google IP returned error. Google IP is offline
Google.com is accessible.
Yahoo IP is accessible.
Yahoo.com is accessible.


Windows Firewall:
=============

Firewall Disabled Policy:
==================


System Restore:
============

System Restore Disabled Policy:
========================


Action Center:
============

Windows Update:
============

Windows Autoupdate Disabled Policy:
============================


Windows Defender:
==============
WinDefend Service is not running. Checking service configuration:
The start type of WinDefend service is set to Demand. The default start type is Auto.
The ImagePath of WinDefend service is OK.
The ServiceDll of WinDefend service is OK.


Windows Defender Disabled Policy:
==========================
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows Defender]
"DisableAntiSpyware"=DWORD:1


Other Services:
==============


File Check:
========
C:\Windows\System32\nsisvc.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\drivers\nsiproxy.sys => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\dhcpcore.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\drivers\afd.sys => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\drivers\tdx.sys => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\Drivers\tcpip.sys => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\dnsrslvr.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\mpssvc.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\bfe.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\drivers\mpsdrv.sys => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\SDRSVC.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\vssvc.exe => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\wscsvc.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\wbem\WMIsvc.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\wuaueng.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\qmgr.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\es.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\cryptsvc.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Program Files\Windows Defender\MpSvc.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\ipnathlp.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\iphlpsvc.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\svchost.exe => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\rpcss.dll => MD5 is legit


**** End of log ****
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
so WLAN AutoConfig is now started and running OK
 

bonobohead

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 10, 2013
Messages
17
No, unfortunately it is not. I still get error 1747 when trying to start it, and still no sign of the WiFi in the network connections...
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
i'm just looking up the error

so all dependencies for that service are all working and started - correct
 

bonobohead

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 10, 2013
Messages
17
Yes, as far as I can tell the dependencies are indeed working and running. The fixit you recommended is for XP and Vista - will it also work on my Windows 7 system?
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
best not run, missed that sorry

you have already run the tcp.ip reset - run again anyway

------------------------------------------------------------------------

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8

For Windows 8
to open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop. Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.

Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box
(A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on the screen ):

In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands:

Note: Type only the text in bold and red for the following commands.

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog and press enter

Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log and press enter

Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log and press enter

ReStart (reboot) the machine.

If you receive the message
The requested operation requires elevation.
Then please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box
(A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

Please note and post back - if you receive the following message :-
Access is Denied

please post back the results in a reply here - its important we know that these commands have worked correctly and not produced any errors
right click in the command prompt box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Details also here
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357


------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

bonobohead

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 10, 2013
Messages
17
It seems it's also the fix for Windows 7. Ran it and restarted the system - everything is still the same. Still no Wifi in the Network Connections and still error 1747 in WLAN AutoConfig
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
i guess we maybe back to this issue
- Ran the System File Checker tool. Result: “…found corrupt files but was unable to fix some of them”.
other than a re-install now - not sure what else to advise - run out of ideas now really

others may have more suggestions
 

bonobohead

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 10, 2013
Messages
17
Winsock and ipv6 resets went okay. the ipv4 now says "There's no user specified settings to be reset." Don't remember getting this message when I ran these resets yesterday...think it said the same as the others still do ("Reseting Interface, OK! Restart the computer to complete this action.")

Anyway, restarted and everything still the same.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top