WMI is gone!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

puter-inept

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 30, 2005
Messages
4
Somehow my Windows Management Instrumentation is gone. I am not sure what it is but it looks to be important, so how do I get it back? Can I get it back? Any help is appreciated! :confused:
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
119,151
Hi and welcome to TSG,

Are you getting an error message something like this?

Can't Collect Information. Cannot access the Windows Management Instrumentation software. Windows Management files may be moved or missing?
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
119,151
To fix this certain services must be running:

Go to the Control Panel and double click on Administrative Tools. Double click on Services.

Locate the Event Log service in the list and double click on it. Its startup type needs to be set to "automatic." Change this if it's set to "manual" or "disabled."

If its Service status does not display "started," click on the "Start" button to start the Event Log immediately.

Repeat the above process for the following services:

Windows Management Instrumentation service
Remote Procedure Call (RPC) service


Log off or restart your computer and try again. System Information should work now without giving the "Can't Collect Information" error.

Let me know how it goes.
 

puter-inept

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 30, 2005
Messages
4
event log service is not listed at all, WMI is already on automatic, and so is RPC. If I open WMI, right click on properties, it says Service status stopped. Hitting start gives me, could not start Windows Management Instrumentation service on local computer. The dependency service does not exist or has been marked for deletion. :eek:
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
119,151
What OS are you running?
 

puter-inept

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 30, 2005
Messages
4
cookiegal, just wanted to let you know, all is fixed. Ended up I just rebooted with the CD and WMI is back where it should be. Thanks for your willingness to help. :)
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
119,151
Great. Glad you got it sorted and thanks for the update.

:)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top