Wonky laptop with freezing issues

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

DMM1

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 31, 2021
Messages
53
https://forums.techguy.org/threads/random-freezing-on-old-laptop.1260480/page-4

I know, it became a problem right before the weather got warm and I didn't want to spend excess time up here without AC.

Anyway so I took another crack at it and thought I found a solution. The case was cracked a bit so if I flexed the front corner it was moving the HDD. Thought I corrupted it. Got a new HDD, spent the day gluing and reinstalling. Was going fine and rebooted a lot until it froze during a performance check. Then wouldn't POST again. When it decided to work again it froze in the same place. How depressing.

Did we discuss why it wouldn't post? I mean it was running in safe mode for the last few months so I wanna rule out RAM, power, etc. Maybe normal mode is overworking the CPU and it needs new paste? I can feel heat from the fan so I didn't bother trying to fix that part yet.
 

Oddba11

Jim
Joined
May 12, 2011
Messages
8,394
Freezing and shutdowns would indicate a hardware fault or overheating. Have you had it apart and ensured that it is clean? Looked it over to ensure items like heatsinks are still attached/attached properly?

And if it's running, and then shuts down (assuming it is a heat issue), it's not likely to just restart and work as it would still be hot.
 

DMM1

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 31, 2021
Messages
53
Dunno if you checked my previous topic. It started acting up a while ago and yeah my first thought was to clean the usual spots. Last night I verified it was still clean, nothing obvious was blown/burnt on the boards. I didn't take apart the heatsink area because I can feel heat from the fans, and sometimes digging into that area can make things worse. There aren't any thermal alerts. It's been running fine in safe mode and only locking up in normal mode. Now on a fresh drive and install, it's not able to finish setup.

It doesn't shut down or anything it just stops responding. There were times where the screen would blank out then come back saying the driver crashed. Updating didn't help. There wasn't any pattern to it. On top of that after manually shutting it off it often won't POST. Eventually it does get past that but like I said it only stayed running in safe mode.

I don't have luck with these dang things anymore. It's not that I can't fix them, I just dunno WTF is causing it to know where to look. Why is safe mode stable? If it was a software issue then a reinstall should help. Can a BIOS battery cause this? I know some systems do weird things but this one isn't easily replaceable. No warnings, no messages, no parts to swap.

Truth is I've gotten 8 or 10 years out of it. I wanna keep it if I can, it's not easy finding a laptop with a CD drive, backlit board, chicklet keys, for a reasonable price. Especially with all the chip shortages, it's an awful time to buy.
 

DMM1

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 31, 2021
Messages
53
Little off topic, but a different question. If an accessory is listed as compatible with Ipads, as long as it uses BT is there any reason to believe it wouldn't work with Android or something?

I've temporarily given up on the laptop. While I'm waiting to find the right replacement I thought to try a tablet for my mobile browsing. And I'm hoping to find a small backlit KB to use with it. I've never used Apple products to know if my guess on compatibility is correct.
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
121,304
I've merged the previous thread together with this one so all of the posts are in the same place for easy reference.
 

plodr

Liz
Joined
Jun 27, 2014
Messages
25,193
I can't answer about Apple. We own several android tablets and I had no trouble pairing 2 different bluetooth keyboards with the tablets. (One is a travel size that folds and the other is almost a full size keyboard.) The package says iOS, Windows and Android so I'd say get one that mentions all 3 operating systems and you'll be sure it will work.
examples: https://picclick.com/US-Slim-Backlit-Wireless-Bluetooth30-Keyboard-For-IOS-184356272567.html
https://www.amazon.com/OYOSUOGG-Wireless-Bluetooth-Keyboard-Compatible/dp/B07NV7ZDKQ
 

DMM1

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 31, 2021
Messages
53
I've merged the previous thread together with this one so all of the posts are in the same place for easy reference.
Cool, thanks. I didn't expect to find the old one locked although I kinda walked away from the project when we got a lot of warm weather.

Huh, lotta options at that link. I'll have to browse. Trying to find something that holds the screen laptop-style which is why I asked if Apple stuff connects using BT or something proprietary. The one I found doesn't specifically state any other tablets.
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
121,304
Cool, thanks. I didn't expect to find the old one locked
You're welcome. Threads locks after 45 days of inactivity. But you can use the Report button to request that it be reopened again.
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2014
Messages
2,719
When you replaced the hard drive,how were you doing it? software, cloner what? New install or copying old? Some Toshibas require special chipset drivers and they way they number them it is very hard to tell what is the newest. Bad or incompatible memory can cause intermittent freezers! Just because windows says you have the best drivers dosen't mean it is true. I have a 2013 Toshiba laptop that was slow as dirt until I put 16gb memory in and a SSD, now it is fast as a new one!😁
 

DMM1

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 31, 2021
Messages
53
Done it once or twice before when the old magnetic types corrupted. New HDD and the factory software discs. Once things were going then I'd copy information over from the drive or whatever I managed to back up someplace.

It's been working a long time, and since safe mode was stable I'm gonna guess the HDD or RAM weren't at fault. I'd gotten a new 3rd party battery a while ago, not sure that could do anything but did test the system on AC only (batt removed) and it froze anyway. Without parts to swap out I can't exactly pinpoint what went wrong but the fact it doesn't clear POST half the time I'm leaning towards a bad BIOS or mobo. The battery is soldered on. Think I wrote all that before...

There was a point I updated a lot of drivers trying to get the webcam going, then ruled it out when the fresh install froze before finishing. Still a good system if I could figure this out. Maybe find a refurb mobo online.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top