wont boot up

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

JohnnyBoy1947

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 26, 2018
Messages
4
I installed and ran Driver Booster to update drivers and now I can't access the pc at all. The screen shows multicoloured vertical stripes at boot up and it wont respond to keystrokes. I've had loads of advice online via my mobile, but it all requires the use of the keyboard. My desktop pc runs on the latest version of Windows 10 pro. Any advice is truly appreciated. Thanks.P81003-170228.jpg P81003-170228.jpg
 

JohnnyBoy1947

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 26, 2018
Messages
4
Since my last post I have disconnected the harddrive and started the pc in the hope of getting an error message, but I am still getting the same striped screen. I presume the OS is not the cause and suspect this may be a graphics problem. Do you agree ?
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2014
Messages
4,493
Yeppirs, I agree. If the problem is happening before an Operating System is even booted, then it must be a hardware problem.

Does the monitor exhibit the same problem when connected to another PC? If so, the problem must be something to do with the monitor. I'd try a different video cable first.

Let us know what you find out ...
 

JohnnyBoy1947

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 26, 2018
Messages
4
My pc is plugged into HDMI1 on my TV. When the pc connects with it, the screen automatically shows the screen resolution of the pc, so I know it's not a faulty cable. Sooo how do I fix the onboard graphics problem ? Thanks again.
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2014
Messages
4,493
In an attempt to "fix the onboard graphics problem" I would download and install the latest driver direct from the motherboard manufacturer's website, or, if Intel, from Intel.

If that doesn't fix it, then you could install a video graphics adapter or replace the motherboard.
 

DaveA

David
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 16, 1999
Messages
17,206
Does this happen if you boot into the safe mode?
 

JohnnyBoy1947

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 26, 2018
Messages
4
Sorry but as I said in my first post, I can't access my pc so can't download anything. Will have to take it in to repair shop. Thanks for your input. Kind regards. Johnny.
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2014
Messages
4,493
If you can get into "Safe mode with Networking" you should be able to download.
 

DaveA

David
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 16, 1999
Messages
17,206
Are you saying that the colored strips appear before windows load?
 

managed

Allan
Moderator
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
15,149
If the TV still works as a TV the PC has the problem, faulty graphics or possibly ram.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top