1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Won't come out of sleep mode

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by bschwindt, May 13, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bschwindt

    bschwindt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    I have a fairly new desktop that on several occasions has failed to come out of sleep mode after an extended period of inactivity. Mouse movement or space bar activation have no effect. My only cure is to reboot. Any suggestions?
     
  2. cancon

    cancon

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,152
    I had the same problem with my old desktop...

    So your laptop turns on after you push the power button, but nothing shows on the screen?

    I need to know if the laptop actually whirrs after you take it out of standby or if nothing happens...

    If it whirrs, but the screen doesn't turn on, then you need to download the latest graphics card drivers.

    You know how to do that right?
     
  3. bschwindt

    bschwindt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    The CPU and fan continue to run in sleep mode. The monitor eventually goes blank. It's when I try to reactivate by using my spacebar or moving my mouse that I fail to get activity.
     
  4. cancon

    cancon

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,152
    Sorry, I didn't make myself clear. Once the computer is in sleep mode, and you try to bring it out of sleep mode, do you hear the computer switching on?
     
  5. ultimecia_nyaha

    ultimecia_nyaha

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    normally to get your computer out of sleep mode you should press the power button not space or use mouse etc like you would a screen saver or power saver option on monitor try putting sleep mode on and then pressing you power button once it is on.
     
  6. ultimecia_nyaha

    ultimecia_nyaha

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    once sleep mode is on that is it should boot strait to the desktop as you left it
     
  7. bschwindt

    bschwindt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    I apologize for not making myself clear. When I walk away from my operating desktop and come back an hour or so later to a blank monitor screen, the only way I can resume use is to reboot the computer. This doesn't happen all the time, only on occasion. Most of the time the computer functions normally. That is, when I return to use it after inactivity I'm able to resume function by simply moving my mouse.
     
  8. cancon

    cancon

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,152
    You still didn't answer my question...

    When you try to resume activity of your computer, do you hear it switching on, yes or no?

    When you refer to "sleep" mode, I assume you're talking about standby. If you're talking about standby, the computer DOES cool down, and therefore you do not hear the fan any more.

    When you try to resume activity of your computer do you hear the fan???
     
  9. bschwindt

    bschwindt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    The fan will run continually when I step away from the computer, no matter what the length of time. When I try to resume activity I do not hear it trying to switch on. Again, part of the problem in trouble shooting is that this only occurs about 10% of the time.
     
  10. myfavoritemartin

    myfavoritemartin

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    112
    I had a similar problem with an earlier version of Vista. Are you current with updates?
     
  11. cancon

    cancon

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,152
    the best thing to do is to update your graphics drivers - what is your graphics card?
     
  12. bschwindt

    bschwindt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    All my updates are current.
     
  13. bschwindt

    bschwindt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    I'm not sure what my graphics card is. Where would I find it?
     
  14. myfavoritemartin

    myfavoritemartin

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    112
    From the Welcome Center, select "View My Computers Details", then select "Device Manager". You'll see it under Display Adapters.
     
  15. cancon

    cancon

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,152
    Or you could go start>run and type "dxdiag"

    Click yes at the prompt, and wait for the diagnosis tool to load. You'll then be able to click on the Display tab where it will tell you all the details you'll need to know about your graphics card.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/572916