1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

won't connect wirelessly, but router is fine!

Discussion in 'Networking' started by canadian_girl, Jul 7, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. canadian_girl

    canadian_girl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    here's my problem - I can't connect via wifi to my router, but can connect to the internet with an ethernet cable.

    However, my other computer connects via wifi without problems. I've gone through my troubleshooting and the wifi light is on, so that's not the issue. I also updated my driver (says it's working fine) and even tried to uninstall and reinstall it. I am not sure what else to do.

    If I try to connect via wifi though, the computer recognizes all the available networks, including my own, but just won't connect. It says a cable is unplugged (which at that time it is, because it's supposed to connect wirelessly).

    I have a HP Pavilion dv6-3147sb Entertainment notebook, and it uses Windows 7

    ANY help, tips, fixes? I will try anything at this point!!
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,493
    If you are trying to use an integrated wireless adapter make sure you have the latest driver from HP's web site.

    Has this computer ever connected to this router via wireless? If so, disable encryption on the router and try to connect. If successful you can probably re-enable encryption and reconnect.

    What firewall or security suite?

    Please attach a screen shot of the Networks page (don't collapse the Radar, Connection or Signal History) of the Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector. If you need help with that see TSG Posting a Screenshot. FWIW to take screen shots with Windows 7 or Vista I prefer to use the built-in Snipping Tool.

    Also show ...

    Open a (black) Command Prompt window:
    Hold the Windows logo key and press r; in the Run box type cmd and click on OK.

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  3. canadian_girl

    canadian_girl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Ok, I’ve tried to answer all the questions, but need some help. Here goes:
    Yes it has connected previously. It just stopped randomly about a month ago. How do I disable the encryption on the router? I’ve tried to remove the router from the computer, and set it back up previously.
    We use Norton 360, and have for a few years now (we have an updated version)

    Screenshot of the Networks page:
    ยท This is where I am having some trouble, I have the inspector open but my computer won’t “print screen” – I am not sure what you mean by the Snipping tool.
    From Command prompt:
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    C:\Users\Irvine>IPCONFIG/ALL
    n I am having troubles pasting the results. I tried to copy them and tried to print screen without luck. Any tips?

    Sorry, I am SUCH a beginner!

    Also, I am connected via a cable right now, when I run these things, should I disconnect so you can see it that way?
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,493
    Geez, and I thought I asked a lot of questions. :) :)

    Login to the router, preferably using an ethernet connection, navigate to the wireless section and set the Encryption (or Security) Mode to 'none' or 'off' or similar. You should have a user guide on CD or on the manufacturer's web site.

    At least some versions of Norton have separate settings for wired and wireless.

    Some newer laptops require <Fn> + <Prtscn> or <Fn> + <Alt> + <Prtscn>. Instead of using that I find it easier to use the (Start - All Programs - Accessories -) Snipping Tool to capture whatever region of the screen I want. With it there is no need to paste to another program before saving the image.

    For the ipconfig /all follow this sentence exactly: "Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter." When you hit the Enter (key) the selected contents are copied to the clipboard, ready for pasting to a post here.

    For this problem it is OK if you are connected by cable for the Xirrus and ipconfig /all.
     
  5. canadian_girl

    canadian_girl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    haha, I know I know. Thanks! here's the command prompt stuff. I will see if I can get the other things sorted out as well, but in the meantime, maybe this helps:

    C:\Users\Irvine>IPCONFIG/ALL

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Irvine-HP
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : phub.net.cable.rogers.com

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 43225 802.11b/g/n
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 5C-AC-4C-2D-6A-66
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Juniper Network Connect Virtual Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-FF-B0-0B-F6-04
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 70-F3-95-9C-BC-4E
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : phub.net.cable.rogers.com
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 60-EB-69-64-7C-34
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::544a:e3a7:d922:7908%10(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.101(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, July 07, 2012 9:58:28 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, July 08, 2012 1:40:27 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 247990953
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-13-FE-A5-F0-60-EB-69-64-7C-34

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 64.71.255.198
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{3C7739E4-2ED5-42B3-B5D5-547CFC785ECA}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{257070B4-5074-4518-9811-C1FF915FBFED}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{BC972360-B607-4C5E-B33A-E8C4A797A67C}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:4d4:131a:9c06:53c8(Prefe
    rred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::4d4:131a:9c06:53c8%14(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.phub.net.cable.rogers.com:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : phub.net.cable.rogers.com
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #4
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
     
  6. canadian_girl

    canadian_girl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    here's the capture from the wifi inspector. "wilson" is our network (fyi - we have another laptop and it works just fine wirelessly)
     

    Attached Files:

  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,493
    If your network is "wilson" consider using WPA-PSK, as it is secure and works better, especially with Vista and Windows 7.

    If your network is any of those others the signal strength is not strong enough for a reliable connection.
     
  8. canadian_girl

    canadian_girl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Yes, it's wilson. I'll look into changing that, thanks. That wouldn't be the issue though right?

    The only thing left for me to try based on what you said to do above is to login to the router. I will look into how to do that. that said, our other laptop connects fine, so I don't want to mess up that.
     
  9. Ihatecats

    Ihatecats Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Messages:
    359
    Right Click and run as admin for these tools and attach them rather than copy and paste.

    Please download FarbarServiceScanner and run it on the computer with the issue.


    Make sure the following options are checked:
    Internet Services
    Windows Firewall
    System Restore
    Security Center/Action Center
    Windows Update

    Press "Scan".
    It will create a log (FSS.txt) in the same directory the tool is run.
    Please copy and paste the log to your reply.

    Please download MINITOOLBOX and run it.

    Checkmark following boxes:


    Report IE Proxy Settings
    Report FF Proxy Settings
    List content of Hosts
    List IP configuration
    List Winsock Entries
    List last 10 Event Viewer log
    List Installed Programs
    List Users, Partitions and Memory size
    List Devices (problems only)



    Click Go and post the result.
     
  10. canadian_girl

    canadian_girl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    @iahtecats - should I run these while connected via the internet with my ethernet cable, or should I disconnect after I download them?

    @terrynet - I still need to login to my router (having a hard time finding my username, but I am sure I have it somewhere!). In the meantime, did anything I copied for you tell you what the issue could be?

    thanks!
     
  11. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,493
    I still think that most likely the encryption got "out of sync" between router and adapter or else Windows 7 is struggling with the WEP.
     
  12. Ihatecats

    Ihatecats Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Messages:
    359
    @iahtecats - should I run these while connected via the internet with my ethernet cable, or should I disconnect after I download them?

    Disconnected.
     
  13. canadian_girl

    canadian_girl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    ok, when I try to change the network from WEP to the one suggested, it says the adapter is not connected and won't let me access any properties. Any suggestions on how to do this?
     
  14. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,493
    You were able to connect with encryption disabled? But now cannot connect using WPA-PSK? Did you download and install the latest driver from HP's web site?
     
  15. canadian_girl

    canadian_girl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    I'm not sure how to change it to WPA-PSK but my other laptop is working just fine with wifi, based on the current settings. And yes, I made sure we have the updated driver from HP
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1060015