1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Won't go to certain websites

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by mrbohon, Jan 18, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mrbohon

    mrbohon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    I use Windows ME and Internet Explorer 6. When I try to get to certain websites (for ex. walmart.com and download.com), the browser says that page doesn't exist and my computer won't go to those sites. The funny thing is that you can get to those sites on anyone else's computer. What can I do to fix this?
    Please help. It's driving me crazy. Please feel free to e-mail me!
    I appreciate your help.
     
  2. Davey7549

    Davey7549

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    Messages:
    11,584
    mrbohon
    Welcome to TSG!
    Could be you have directions placed in what is called the hosts file or some security restriction in IE\Tools\Internet options\security tab

    First I would look in the hosts file. Go to start\search and type in hosts in the files and folders line then hit enter. There may be several Hosts files found the one you want to look at is just named hosts with no .xxx extension. Once found right click and open with notepad. Look for any entry that may have the listing for Walmart or Download.com in its line. If it is there remove the line by deleting and click the file tab and click save. Now try going to those sites.

    The other possiblilty is the security setting as mentioned above. Go there and look through the restricted sites area.

    Let us know what you find.

    Dave
     
  3. mrbohon

    mrbohon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Dave,
    1. Thank you for the quick response. I truly appreciate you taking the time to help me.
    2. I tried the "host" thing and I'm going to paste it here for you to see:# Copyright (c) 1998 Microsoft Corp.
    #
    # This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP stack for Windows98
    #
    # This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
    # entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
    # be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
    # The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
    # space.
    #
    # Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
    # lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
    #
    # For example:
    #
    # 102.54.94.97 rhino.acme.com # source server
    # 38.25.63.10 x.acme.com # x client host

    127.0.0.1 localhost

    ***********************
    I don't know if that means anything to you, but I didn't see Walmart or Download, so I figured it wasn't the problem.

    3. I've been to Internet Options, Security, etc. I have everything set on the lowest security level (at the suggestion of friends who I've asked this question to)- it still isn't helping. I looked and didn't see any sites included or excluded.

    4. I've even tried downloading Netscape version 7 and using that browser, but it didn't work either.

    ??????????
    Thanks again (in advance)
    Craig Bohon
     
  4. brendandonhu

    brendandonhu

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    14,681
    I dont think you posted the contents of HOSTS, that was more likely HOSTS.SAM.

    Security settings should be on medium, low is too insecure.
     
  5. Davey7549

    Davey7549

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    Messages:
    11,584
    Craig
    That is the file Hosts.sam that give intructions to how one uses the hosts file. What you need to look at is a file called hosts.
    See attached search.

    Dave
     

    Attached Files:

  6. mrbohon

    mrbohon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    1. OK, I actually looked at all 3 "Hosts" files before, but wasn't quite sure which was which. Here is the "paste" of what the other folder said:

    127.0.0.1 pop3.norton.antivirus # Added by Norton AntiVirus for e-Mail scanning
    127.0.0.1 pop3.spa.norton.antivirus # Added by Norton AntiVirus for e-Mail scanning

    2. I'm going to switch the security settings back to medium. That is where they were normally kept, but I lowered them to see if that would help me get to those 2 websites.

    I don't know. What do you guys think?

    Craig
     
  7. Davey7549

    Davey7549

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    Messages:
    11,584
    mrbohon
    From what I see there is nothing in hosts that would cause a no connect! You may want to try and delete all Temp internet files including all offline content. Go to Internet Explorer\tools\Internet Options and on the general page under temp files select the delete files tab and then select all offline content when the window appears. After that deletion stay on same page and delte all history. After all is deleted close IE then reopen and try those offending sites.

    Dave

    PS: Do you by chance have a firewall installed?
     
  8. mrbohon

    mrbohon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Again, thanks for your time and patience.
    I don't think I have a firewall installed. I've never installed one myself. I have ATT broadband internet (if that tells you anything).

    I'm going to bed soon, so I may try deleting all that content you were talking about. I'll post sometime tomorrow and tell you if I get lucky.

    I can't thank you enough.

    Craig
     
  9. mrbohon

    mrbohon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    :confused: I tried deleting all offline content and erasing my history. It still doesn't work. I get the DNS Error. File not found page.

    What on earth is going on?
     
  10. steamwiz

    steamwiz

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,773
    Hi mrbohon

    I think it's time to post your startup list

    If you post your startup list we may be able to spot something

    Please post your startup list by doing the following :-

    Please go here and download startuplist 1.51 :-

    http://www.lurkhere.com/~nicefiles/startuplist151.zip

    Download to any folder or your desktop
    Unzip the zipfile
    Double click the exe file
    go to Edit - select all - copy - and paste the results in a new post here


    steam
     
  11. mrbohon

    mrbohon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Okay, here is the report you suggested that I get. I'm glad you guys know what you're doing because I wouldn't have the slightest clue to do any of this stuff.
    Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.
    Craig Bohon


    StartupList report, 1/19/2003, 7:40:38 PM
    StartupList version: 1.51
    Started from : C:\WINDOWS\DESKTOP\STARTUPLIST.EXE
    Detected: Windows ME (Win9x 4.90.3000)
    Detected: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)
    * Using default options
    ==================================================

    Running processes:

    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON SYSTEMWORKS\NORTON UTILITIES\NPROTECT.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON SYSTEMWORKS\NORTON CLEANSWEEP\CSINJECT.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\SYMANTEC SHARED\SYMTRAY.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSTASK.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RESTORE\STMGR.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\LOGITECH\MOUSEWARE\SYSTEM\EM_EXEC.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON SYSTEMWORKS\NORTON ANTIVIRUS\NAVAPW32.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON SYSTEMWORKS\NORTON ANTIVIRUS\POPROXY.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\HPHMON03.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\HEWLETT-PACKARD\PHOTOSMART\PHOTO IMAGING\HPI_MONITOR.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\HEWLETT-PACKARD\PHOTOSMART\HP SHARE-TO-WEB\HPGS2WND.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\QTTASK.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SPOOL32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\HEWLETT-PACKARD\PHOTOSMART\HP SHARE-TO-WEB\HPGS2WNF.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\EXIF LAUNCHER\QUICKDCF.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\WUAUCLT.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\LOGITECH\WEBCOLCT\WEBCOLCT.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADAPTEC\EASY CD CREATOR 4\CREATR32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\HPHIPM09.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WBEM\WINMGMT.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\OUTLOOK EXPRESS\MSIMN.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\PSTORES.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\WINZIP\WINZIP32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\DESKTOP\STARTUPLIST.EXE

    --------------------------------------------------

    Listing of startup folders:

    Shell folders Startup:
    [C:\WINDOWS\Start Menu\Programs\StartUp]
    Norton System Doctor.lnk = C:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks\Norton Utilities\SYSDOC32.EXE
    CleanSweep Smart Sweep-Internet Sweep.lnk = C:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks\Norton CleanSweep\csinsm32.exe
    Exif Launcher.lnk = C:\Program Files\Exif Launcher\QuickDCF.exe
    Forget Me Not Reminders.lnk = C:\CACARD\FMREMIND.EXE

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    ScanRegistry = C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
    SystemTray = SysTray.Exe
    EM_EXEC = C:\PROGRA~1\LOGITECH\MOUSEW~1\SYSTEM\EM_EXEC.EXE
    NPROTECT = C:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks\Norton Utilities\NPROTECT.EXE
    NAV DefAlert = C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\NORTON~2\DEFALERT.EXE
    Norton Auto-Protect = C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\NORTON~2\NAVAPW32.EXE /LOADQUIET
    Norton eMail Protect = C:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks\Norton AntiVirus\POPROXY.EXE
    RegShave = C:\Progra~1\REGSHAVE\REGSHAVE.EXE /autorun
    HPDJ Taskbar Utility = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\hpztsb04.exe
    HPHmon03 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\HPHMON03.EXE
    CXMon = "C:\Program Files\Hewlett-Packard\PhotoSmart\Photo Imaging\Hpi_Monitor.exe"
    Share-to-Web Namespace Daemon = C:\Program Files\Hewlett-Packard\PhotoSmart\HP Share-to-Web\hpgs2wnd.exe
    QuickTime Task = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\QTTASK.EXE
    NvCplDaemon = RUNDLL32.EXE NvQTwk,NvCplDaemon initialize
    nwiz = nwiz.exe /install

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices

    NPROTECT = C:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks\Norton Utilities\NPROTECT.EXE
    CSINJECT.EXE = C:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks\Norton CleanSweep\CSINJECT.EXE
    SymTray - Norton SystemWorks = C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\SymTray.exe "Norton SystemWorks"
    StillImageMonitor = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
    ScriptBlocking = "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\Script Blocking\SBServ.exe" -reg
    SchedulingAgent = mstask.exe
    *StateMgr = C:\WINDOWS\System\Restore\StateMgr.exe

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\WINDOWS\WININIT.BAK listing:
    (Created 17/1/2003, 20:19:48)

    [rename]
    NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\GLB1A2B.EXE

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\AUTOEXEC.BAT listing:

    SET PATH=C:\WINDOWS;C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND
    SET windir=C:\WINDOWS
    SET winbootdir=C:\WINDOWS
    SET COMSPEC=C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND.COM
    SET PROMPT=$p$g
    SET TEMP=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP
    SET TMP=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\WINDOWS\WINSTART.BAT listing:

    C:\WINDOWS\tmpcpyis.bat

    --------------------------------------------------


    Enumerating Task Scheduler jobs:

    Tune-up Application Start.job
    PCHealth Scheduler for Data Collection.job
    Maintenance-Defragment programs.job
    Maintenance-ScanDisk.job
    Maintenance-Disk cleanup.job
    Scan for Viruses.job
    Symantec NetDetect.job

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Download Program Files:

    [Update Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IUCTL.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/ansi/iuctl.CAB?37595.2716898148

    [Shockwave ActiveX Control]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MACROMED\DIRECTOR\SWDIR.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/director/sw.cab


    [HeartbeatCtl Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLO~1\HRTBEAT.OCX
    CODEBASE = http://fdl.msn.com/zone/datafiles/heartbeat.cab

    --------------------------------------------------
    End of report, 6,084 bytes
    Report generated in 0.579 seconds

    Command line options:
    /verbose - to add additional info on each section
    /complete - to include empty sections and unsuspicious data
    /full - to include several rarely-important sections
    /force9x - to include Win9x-only startups even if running on WinNT
    /forcent - to include WinNT-only startups even if running on Win9x
    /forceall - to include all Win9x and WinNT startups, regardless of platform
    /history - to list version history only
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/114037

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice