1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

won't start windows

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by alandros, Jan 25, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. alandros

    alandros Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Ok, I try to turn on my computer, and it won't load my OS. Instead it goes to a screen showing the gateway emblem and just sits there until it eventually says:"I/O disk error, replace disk and try again" despite the fact that there is no disk.
     
  2. pyritechips

    pyritechips Gone but Never Forgotten

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2002
    Messages:
    26,907
    First Name:
    Jim
    <img src="http://forums.techguy.org/attachment.php?s=&postid=697507">

    Hello!

    That error can occur when the BIOS cannot find the disk upon which the operating system is on. Did you mean there is no "floppy" disc in the drive? That's good because if there was and it wasn't a bootable disc you would get that error.

    When your computer starts, try entering the BIOS. I'm not sure on your system what key but it may say so on the Gateway screen what key to hit to enter setup. It may be F2 or F10 or maybe even "del".

    Once in your BIOS search for the disc boot order and ensure that floppy is indicated as first choice, then HDD as second choice.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. alandros

    alandros Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Ok, thanks, I'll try that when I get back to my computer.
     
  4. pyritechips

    pyritechips Gone but Never Forgotten

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2002
    Messages:
    26,907
    First Name:
    Jim
    Ok good, and please let us know what happens.
     
  5. alandros

    alandros Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Ok, now its telling me that I don't have a FAT or FAT32 pertition. Then it opens an A:\ prompt.
     
  6. paul selhi

    paul selhi

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Messages:
    274
    from the a:/ prompt type c: then dir

    can you see any files, if so then all is not lost, if you can get to another pc and create an emergency boot disk, you may be able to use this to boot your pc

    if c: shows nothing then there is no data on drive c: sounds like your file table is knackered, unless you wish to pay a lot for data recovery you will have to reinstall and loose the data but first try a boot from the cd and if it gives an option to upgrade the install as opposed to a clean install you may get away with an install and saving the data

    of course i am assuming you had an O/S and data before :D :D
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/115281

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice