Word 2000 file coruptions

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

BoWillis

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 29, 2003
Messages
53
Recently when I open a doc. in word they are mixed with words and then boxes and squares. Sometimes I get "can't save errors." I have created normal.dot docs but still get these errors.

Can anyone please help?!? :confused:

Thanks- BoWillis
 

BoWillis

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 29, 2003
Messages
53
Yep all my updates are done. I run a virus scan on all my mail and weekly on my drives. It's is an old install (7-8months) but just recently started. It first started when I would open an older doc. with an address header and erase the body and re-enter new text. Sometimes I can close it and re-open it and it will be ok or even words but the scrambling in other spots.

Thanks-bowillis
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2001
Messages
1,546
Were the older Docs created with another verison of word?

Could you post the exact error message and your OS?
 

dvk01

Derek
Retired Moderator Retired Malware Specialist
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
56,452
normally the little boxes are because the computer that has sent you the .doc has either used a font that you haven't got on your computer and hasn't embedded it in word or they are word perfect .docs not word.doc

or if they are your old files you may have a corrupted font folder or some fonts have become corrupted
 

BoWillis

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 29, 2003
Messages
53
Running Win2000. Docs. from the same version of Word2000. One day everything can be right the next all boxes and squares. For instance nothing has been said to me in the past few days but last week it was an every other day issue.

I think I handled the "could not save" errors. I went to the MS site and plundered around until I found some stuff. Haven't gotten any messages. However the corruption still hangs around.

If it is related to corrupt font folder how can I determine that and how do I fix it?

Thanks- BoWillis
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top