1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Word 2003 starts fine for me but not for wife

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by Tom Seeley, Jul 26, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Tom Seeley

Tom Seeley Thread Starter

I've got MS Office 2003 loaded on our home computer. I'm an administrator and my wife, who is the only other user, is not. I've installed MS Office 2003 so we can both use it. But for some reason, whenever my wife logs on and clicks on the Word icon on her desktop Word starts by starting the Word Install routine. A window pops up that says something like "preparing to install". Then it vanishes. Then nothing! After quite a while (it seems) Word may appear on screen, whereas for me, when I log on and click on the same Word icon (I mean shortcut on my desktop) it starts normally and appears within seconds. In either case, it runs fine, but why won't it start up normally when my wife logs on?:confused:

2. Soundchick

Soundchick

3. ChuckE

ChuckE

It should not work that way, as you probably already know, but perhaps you selected some odd setting, or perhaps there is some installation issue that ... ah, who cares.

How about just temporarily setting her name as an Administrator and then let her start up Word. See if that gets you past the problem. Then, once things appear to work normally, just put her back to User rights.

Other than that, I would just reinstall Office.

4. Tom Seeley

To ChuckE

HOw do I temporarily make her an admin? I'm not willing to make her one permanently.

Without doing that, I have used Control Panel/Remove to remove MS Office 2003 entirely. I then did a complete "typical" install of the whole thing. I had to do that twice, for it to actually install Word, Excel, and PowerPoint!