1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Word 2016 opening as Word 2006

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by Silverwisp, Oct 5, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Silverwisp

Silverwisp Thread Starter

Hello,
    I have a problem with my Word. I use Microsoft Word 2016 to write, and I'm more comfortable using this than Word 2007. However, when I save a file using Word 2016, I open it later using File Explorer and it opens in 2007. I cannot figure out why this happens. I even go to my document, select "Open With...", click on "Word 2016", and enter. This still opens as Word 2007. I've tried researching, but no one else seems to have this problem.
    Can anyone tell me what to do? Maybe I'm overlooking something obvious since I'm not really a techie. If anybody can help, please send detailed instructions!

Thank you!

2. Grrimm

Grrimm

What is your extention file name. does it save as .doc or .docx?

3. Grrimm

Grrimm

It would seem that you have Word 2007 still installed on your device causing conflict, try uninstalling Word 2007 if you have 2017 already installed

4. Silverwisp

Grrimm,
    How can I tell if it's a .doc or .docx? It says "Save As Type: Word Document".
    Also, I should mention that when I go to Word 2016 and select Open File, it opens in Word 2016. Technically, I can just do that instead of fixing the problem, but I would prefer to fix it.

5. Grrimm

Grrimm

upload_2017-10-6_0-31-34.png

That should be the correct format for 2016

6. Silverwisp

Grrimm,