Word converter

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

helpdebbie

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
49
When I try to paste something in a new word doc, I get an error saying, "Word cannot start the converter mswrd 632.wpc. does anyone know how to fix this problem please?????:) Does this have anything to do with my operating is windows 2000 or maybe because I'm no longer using my registry cleaner (regcure) because it's expired and I'm in need of a free on that will work with my operating system?
 

helpdebbie

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
49
Thank you!! After using the link you gave me it tells me that I need to be using explorer 5 in order to install. How do I find out if I'm using explorer 5 or not (I tried to find it but I cant)?? And or if explorer 5 is compatible for my computer or not??
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
120,273
You must mean Internet Explorer? I believe that's a minimum requirement. In your browser, click on Help in the menu bar at the top and then select About Internet Explorer. What version does it say there?
 

helpdebbie

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
49
Thank you, it says internet explorer 6, so I'm going to go ahead and install the link you sent me in your first response. Do you know why this happened? Do I need something like regCure, that I was using, and if yes do you know of a good one that is FREE?
 

helpdebbie

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
49
This is what the directions you gave me say to do:
Depending on which Control Panel view you use, Classic or Category, do one of the following:
  • Click System, and then click the Automatic Updates tab.
  • Click Performance and Maintenance, click System, and then click the Automatic Updates tab.

Click the option that you want. Make sure Automatic Updates is not turned off.

But when I go int my control panel and click system there is no Automatic Updates tab and there is no Performance and Maintenance tab in control Panel. There is a icon to click on in Control Panel, so I turned off the Automatic Updates there.

Also, what about McAfee, is it a good program to be running? I have McAfee, but for some reason (don't know if it's related) just today it's telling me that my computer is not protected.
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
120,273
I think you're in the wrong place. All you need to do is go down to where it says Fix it For me on the page and click the Fix It button there and it will do it automatically.

This issue was caused by a recent MS update.

When does your McAfee expire?

Exactly what is the message you're getting?
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
120,273
Also, you should stay away from registry cleaners. Registries don't need to be cleaned. Using these programs often cause more harm than good by removing needed entries.
 

helpdebbie

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
49
You're right sorry about that there is a automatic update tab and it's turned on.
 

helpdebbie

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
49
About staying away from registry cleaners, would you then suggest I simply go to accessories then system tools (if yes) which one should I use first Disk cleanup or Disk defragmenter? Or do you have another suggestion, please?
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
120,273
I don't really recommend using Disk Cleanup as you could remove something that is needed, such as Office Setup files, which shouldn't be deleted.

But you should definitely defrag the computer and delete Temporary and Temporary Internet Files regularly.

Did the fix work for your Word problem?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top