1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Word default web editor

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by lola2001, Jan 2, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. lola2001

    lola2001 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,972
    I used to have office 97 and I could edit web pages using the edit button on my IE5 browser. I recently wiped my hard drive and updated to IE6 and installed office 2000. Now my edit button either takes me to frontpage or wordpad. Word is not even in the list. I uninstalled frontpage and now only wordpad is showing. Going to the internet options page only has one option for html editor (wordpad). How can I get word to open a webpage for editing by just pressing my edit button in the browser?
     
  2. alexenjen

    alexenjen

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2000
    Messages:
    526
    control panel, internet options, HTML editor and choose
     
  3. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    But it won't be there, if Word isn't in the drop down list.

    Fire up Regedit and go to:

    HKey_Classes_Root/.htm/OpenWithList/

    . Right click OpenWithList and add a New Key. Give it the name you want to show up in your "Edit With" list.
    . Right click the newly created key and add a new key named shell.
    . Right click shell and add a new key named edit.
    . Right click edit and add a new key named command.
    . Open the Default String for command and edit it's value.
    You will want to put in quotes the path to the executable you desire to edit with followed by a space and %1.
    That should do it.

    Delete the other values (programs) the OpenWithList subkey if you wish.

    Good luck,
     
  4. lola2001

    lola2001 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,972
    Thanks for your help, however it is not working. I did exactly as you said, but when I closed the registry and opened it again my changes were gone. Is there a way to save changes? I didn't see anything. After I made the changes again, I left it opened and restarted IE6 to see if I had the choice in the internet options but still only notepad is there. The only thing under the openwithlist is a sub folder that says "notepad.exe" nothing else.
     
  5. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    I must admit I'm stumped there.

    This is a relatively common reg hack, and the changes ought to stick as well.
    On checking my own registry I did find the following subkey however:

    REGEDIT4

    [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Default HTML Editor]
    "Description"="Microsoft Word for Windows"

    [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Default HTML Editor\shell]

    [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Default HTML Editor\shell\edit]
    @="&Edit"

    [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Default HTML Editor\shell\edit\command]
    @="\"C:\\Program Files\\Microsoft Office\\Office\\WINWORD.EXE\" /n"
    "command"=hex(7):40,36,2c,21,21,67,78,73,66,28,4e,67,5d,71,46,60,48,7b,4c,73,\
    57,4f,52,44,46,69,6c,65,73,3e,6c,6c,54,5d,6a,49,7b,6a,66,28,3d,31,26,4c,5b,\
    2d,38,31,2d,5d,20,2f,6e,00,00

    [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Default HTML Editor\shell\edit\ddeexec]
    @="[REM _DDE_Direct][FileOpen(\"%1\")]"

    [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Default HTML Editor\shell\edit\ddeexec\Topic]
    @="System"

    [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Default HTML Editor\shell\edit\ddeexec\Application]
    @="WinWord"

    Now I'm running IE 5.5 Sp2, and I don't know about 6.0, but it might be an idea to check the path to your Winword.exefile, correct if necessary, and import this one.

    Mosaic1 is around, however, and she may have an idea about what's happening here.
     
  6. lola2001

    lola2001 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,972
    Worked perfectly. Thank you so much Tony.
     
  7. Mosaic1

    Mosaic1

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2001
    Messages:
    7,486
    Go to Folder Options >file Types>view>Html Document
    Add a new Action to the list. Name it Worpad. Browse to winword.exe I am not sure if you need to tack on a space"%1" at the end. then make it the default. See if it works. I don't have Office Installed at the moment or I would check the correct syntax for you.

    EDIT: Never Mind. I see you did it the hard way!
     
  8. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    Hi Lola2001,

    Glad it worked out!

    I wasn't sure whether this would work right away, or that we might have overlooked something else as well.

    Cheers,
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/63914

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice