1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Word: drop-down list to fill in memo forms

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by Ulis-Mom, Dec 30, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Ulis-Mom

    Ulis-Mom Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    In our transcription business we type hundreds of memos in a month's time.

    I want to create a drop-down list (intended for validation) so my typists can select 1 of 15 names instead of manually typing each author's name each time.

    I followed instructions in Word Help to create a drop-down list in a template but I can't find out how to get the drop down list to appear for use in the template. Any help would be greatly appreciated. This is my first time using this forum.
     
  2. XL Guru

    XL Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,702
    How about creating a specific menu of authors' names?
     
  3. XL Guru

    XL Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,702
    Rightclick the menu bar, choose “Customise” from the pop-up. On the Commands tab, choose “New Menu” from the Categories list. Drag “New Menu” from the Commands list to your menu bar. Rightclick the "New Menu" command in the menu bar, rename as “Authors”, press Enter.
     
  4. XL Guru

    XL Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,702
    Then what you do is create AutoText entries for the names. Type eg: “Bill Bryson” (w/out quotes) in a doc, then select it, then hit ALT+F3. Click OK when prompted by Word. Then you can go thru the Customise thing again, but this time choose AutoText from the Categories list. Then you can drag specific AutoText entries from the Commands list to the Authors custom menu.

    Rgds,
    Andy
     
  5. XL Guru

    XL Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,702
    Sorry, forgot to say "welcome".

    EDIT: crap, scared another one off. :eek:
     
  6. Ulis-Mom

    Ulis-Mom Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Hi Andy ~

    Thank you for well-written steps to try. I had never used auto text or the new menu commands before. However, I must be on a older version of Word than you ? I only have Word 2002 and those steps you outlined don?t act quite the same as you described. For example, when I right-click on ?new menu? on the menu row, rename is not one of the choices - the only choices are which toolbars to select/deselect.

    Also, when I create the auto text entry and drag it to the ?new menu,? the new entry doesn?t fall under/within the ?new menu? but rather becomes another menu on the same level. So at the moment on my Menu bar I now have ?New Menu? and ?Susan Ewalt? and then ?New Menu? (I tried it a second time). Clicking on the ?new menu? entries do nothing.

    What version of Word do you use? Maybe it?s time to upgrade.

    Thanks,
    Sandy
     
  7. XL Guru

    XL Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,702
    I have Word 2K ; you just fell foul of a couple of bits that are quite hard to put into words. My bad.

    >> when I right-click on ?new menu? on the menu row,
    >> rename is not one of the choices

    You must do this when the Customise dialog is visible. So rightclick the menu (or a toolbar) and select "Customise", then rightclick on "?new menu? on the menu row", in the background. Drag the Customise dialog by its titlebar out of the way, if needs be.

    >> the new entry doesn?t fall under/within the ?new menu?
    >> but rather becomes another menu on the same level.

    This bit's a little tricky. The key is to briefly hover the dragged item over ?new menu? ; then the ?new menu? should expand so you can drop onto it, rather than next to it.

    If you still can't get, I can walk you thru with Remote Assistance if you have MSN (mail to andydotjdot[email protected]dotcom)

    Rgds,
    Andy
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/313243

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice