Tech Support Guy banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Word: drop-down list to fill in memo forms

1K views 6 replies 2 participants last post by  XL Guru 
#1 ·
In our transcription business we type hundreds of memos in a month's time.

I want to create a drop-down list (intended for validation) so my typists can select 1 of 15 names instead of manually typing each author's name each time.

I followed instructions in Word Help to create a drop-down list in a template but I can't find out how to get the drop down list to appear for use in the template. Any help would be greatly appreciated. This is my first time using this forum.

#3 ·
Rightclick the menu bar, choose “Customise” from the pop-up. On the Commands tab, choose “New Menu” from the Categories list. Drag “New Menu” from the Commands list to your menu bar. Rightclick the "New Menu" command in the menu bar, rename as “Authors”, press Enter.

#4 ·
Then what you do is create AutoText entries for the names. Type eg: “Bill Bryson” (w/out quotes) in a doc, then select it, then hit ALT+F3. Click OK when prompted by Word. Then you can go thru the Customise thing again, but this time choose AutoText from the Categories list. Then you can drag specific AutoText entries from the Commands list to the Authors custom menu.

Rgds,
Andy

#6 ·
Hi Andy ~

Thank you for well-written steps to try. I had never used auto text or the new menu commands before. However, I must be on a older version of Word than you ? I only have Word 2002 and those steps you outlined don?t act quite the same as you described. For example, when I right-click on ?new menu? on the menu row, rename is not one of the choices - the only choices are which toolbars to select/deselect.