Word line spacing

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Nelli0

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 3, 2008
Messages
667
Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.9
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 10 Home, 64 bit, Build 18363, Installed 20200114115243.000000+000
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-7020U CPU @ 2.30GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 142 Stepping 9, CPU Count: 4
Total Physical RAM: 4 GB
Graphics Card: Intel(R) HD Graphics 620, 1024 MB
Hard Drives: C: 237 GB (177 GB Free);
Motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. X509UA, ver 1.0, s/n QCCXKP22A93801294
System: American Megatrends Inc., ver _ASUS_ - 1072009, s/n K9N0CX15975139G
Antivirus: Bitdefender Antivirus Free Antimalware, Enabled and Updated

Word won't allow me to type in anything other than 1.5 line spacing. I've set it all up for single line, checked and rechecked it but still no luck. Can anyone help please?
 

DaveA

David
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 16, 1999
Messages
17,450
Are you sure that it is line spacing and not end of Paragraph spacing?

Are you using a "Enter key" at the end of each line?
 

Nelli0

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 3, 2008
Messages
667
James, my version of Word is 2007 transferred to a new laptop running Win10.

David, yes I use the enter key at the end of each line and it is definitely line spacing that isn't working. I've been writing a poem and it has never been a problem before when using Enter at the end of each line. So, now I'm wondering if Word 2007 is truly compatible with Win10. I hope it is because I don't relish getting to know the ins and outs of a new version. I'm too old, and find technology becoming more and more complicated.
 

DaveA

David
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 16, 1999
Messages
17,450
Then I would say the you have the default spacing between paragraphs unchecked.
add the check mark as shown in the attached imageParargrapgSpacing.PNG
 
Last edited:

Nelli0

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 3, 2008
Messages
667
Then I would say the you have the default spacing between paragraphs checked.
add the check mark as shown in the attached imageView attachment 282622
Then I would say the you have the default spacing between paragraphs checked.
add the check mark as shown in the attached imageView attachment 282622
Sorry, Dave, I don't have that paragraph box checked. Line spacing is still set at 1.0 but I don't have spacing set up like the pic - the before and after box. Should I change?
 

DaveA

David
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 16, 1999
Messages
17,450
I typed it in wrong, to turn OFF the spacing you need to add the check.
 

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
42,474
Microsoft Office Compatibility - Microsoft notes that 2007 may not work with Windows 10. If you noticed this as soon as you installed it on Windows 10, then chances are it's an incompatibility issue. I am not sure if Compatibility Mode would help either. Hopefully the option Dave will help you.

The newer 2016 and 365 versions are more or less the same, just basically a facelift. I would recommend Office365 for ease of mind, but if you are looking for a cheaper alternative, LibreOffice or OpenOffice would be the next choice.
 

Nelli0

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 3, 2008
Messages
667
Thank you, James, it's as I feared. Dave's solution makes no difference at all but, thank you, for trying Dave. I appeciate it.
James, which of the three new options is the least complicated?
 

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
42,474
If you want to stay with what you know, Office365 would be the easiest choice and it costs $69 per year. You will receive all new upgrades and support, plus 1TB storage online so you can access your files online anywhere (as long as you save it in OneDrive) with the online versions of Word/Excel/etc.

I haven't used LibreOffice or OpenOffice in a long time, but they are free to install and compatible with Office documents, but you may have a learning curve and some options/fonts/features may not be available. (I may install them to play with them again)

My personal experience/opinion would be Office365 to keep things familiar.
 

Nelli0

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 3, 2008
Messages
667
Given that I’m on the cusp of 80 I don’t want to spend money unnecessarily so I’ll probably go with Open Office. At least trying to work it all out will keep my lockdown brain active!
 

Nelli0

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 3, 2008
Messages
667
It seems I have two accounts for Tech Guy - one for iPad (this reply) and Nelli0 for computer. Told you I was old, didn’t I!
 

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
42,474
Ahh! Well we do require you to have one account to avoid being flagged as someone with multiple accounts. We can merge the two under one username. I will get an administrator to assist you with that.
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
122,206
I can certainly help with that. Please advise which name you'd prefer to keep and I will merge the other into it so you only have one account.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top