Word XP templates and file size

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Annie_01

Thread Starter
Joined
May 22, 2003
Messages
8
Hi I hope some of you Word experts can help me. I'm creating some core templates in word that will allow users to create general reports/letters that I have pre-formatted.
I created new templates that fully utilise styles that I have detailed and inserted fields that run off updates in Properties to allow the user to customise titles/dates and confidentiality info per document.
The header in the template displays two logos and the title page has a logo image inserted as a header and formatted to 'behind text'. The images inserted were initially jpegs and I have played around with using them as .tifs.

There are two issues...one is that these documents will be converted to pdfs and usually sent electronically but may be printed occasionally, so file size and image quality are both issues.
Second issue is that the file size for these templates seems to be all over the place...why is a document with no text or images already several hundred kbs? and then why is one of my bigger (but not that big) templates showing size of 12mb!? and when I open it in apps/microsoft/templates it forces a document to open and asks me to save as new document..when I do this the new document shows size of 800 kb not 12mb although both are identical in function etc.?

Can anybody shed some light on templates and file size and the the best way to enter images into a template to get economics of 'small enough' files with decent quality?
Please can anyone help me...the file sizing seems so random!
 

Anne Troy

Anne
Joined
Feb 14, 1999
Messages
11,746
Templates:
To OPEN a template, Right-click and choose Open.
To USE a template, double-click it. It creates a COPY of the template.
This is CORRECT behavior of a template.

File size:
My guess is that you should open that template. Cut each picture and Edit-Paste special, As a picture (enhanced metafile).

OR open the original pictures in a graphics program and save them as JPG. TIFs suck (sorry).

If you don't have a good graphics program, send them to [email protected] and tell me what size(s) you'd like to print them.

Wherever possible, make the graphics formatted to be "in line with text."
 

Annie_01

Thread Starter
Joined
May 22, 2003
Messages
8
Thanks for the response Dreamboat. Good advice as usual. I had been double clicking on the template...

about the pics...I run photoshop so can make them jpegs there...have had so much conflicting advice about using jpegs, gifs and tifs...but from no one that knows Word well enough. Two of my graphics are not in line with text so I could position them where I wanted...might be able to get away with them in line..does it really make quite a bit of difference to size? I didn't realise that.

Thanks for the help
Annie
 

Anne Troy

Anne
Joined
Feb 14, 1999
Messages
11,746
I find JPGs work great, in general. Not a difference in size if you in line with text, so much as some people experience problems with them moving around.

Another clue IMHO: If you use drawing objects, always make them in a separate doc, group them, then copy the (now) one object and paste special as a picture into the real Word doc. Save the drawn object file for editing later if you think you might.
 

Annie_01

Thread Starter
Joined
May 22, 2003
Messages
8
Thanks again for the advice - I will group my logos together...more good advice

Cheers,
Annie
 

Anne Troy

Anne
Joined
Feb 14, 1999
Messages
11,746
Sorry, Annie. I don't mean GRAPHIC files. I mean the ones you draw with the drawing toolbar. So, unless you drew your logos with the drawing toolbar, don't group them. But if you did, then, yes, move it to another DOC or PPT (I find PPT easier to draw in, actually) and group, then copy/paste into your doc. But save it as it is in PPT in case you need to edit it later. :)
 

Annie_01

Thread Starter
Joined
May 22, 2003
Messages
8
oh...no these are graphics...they're logos that've been done by a contract graphic designer and he's provided different sized logos as AI, Tif and some Jpegs....I'm trying to make my desired logo the correct size and convert to jpeg in photoshop and then insert into my front page of the doc. When I do this, I'm getting the dreaded red x in the corner where the pic should be. I really hate working with graphics...ahhhh !!!
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top