Wordpad - failed to create empty doc. msg

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

buckleysearch

Hello,
in trying to open Wordpad I get a message saying "faild to create empty Wordpad". This happens either with new doc. or already saved doc. What do I need to do to fix the problem? Appreciate any help you can offer.
Thanks, Kevin.

Just want to confirm that is the exact text of the error and not "failed to create empty document"

Either way, try extracting RICHED32.DLL from your OS cd using SFC.

buckleysearch

Hi Angel,
Sorry, the exact text of error msg is above. You'll need to walk me through the process. I'm not an expert. I've also been receiving the following:" MNsVC caused an invalid page fault in Module Kernel32.DLL at 0177: bff7a128". Is this related to the Wordpad problem?
Thanks again for your help, Kevin.

buckleysearch

Angel,
Me again. I am now getting the following random error message:
MNSVC caused an invalid page fault in
module KERNEL32.DLL at 0177:bff7a128.
Registers:
EAX=00747068 CS=0177 EIP=bff7a128 EFLGS=00010202
EBX=004140e4 SS=017f ESP=0063fc5c EBP=0063fc90
ECX=0d3e2d2d DS=017f ESI=004140c0 FS=2217
EDX=63733c0a ES=017f EDI=0074708c GS=0000
Bytes at CS:EIP:
89 51 08 8b 53 08 8b 43 04 8d 8b 0b 10 00 00 c1
Stack dump:
0063fc90 004140c0 00410000 0001dc30 bff7b30e 00410000 004140c0 00000024 00000200 00413f40 bff76e41 0001dc30 004140c0 0063fcd8 bff7b953 00410000
Is this related to earlier problem with opening Wordpad?
Thanks for your time and attention.
Kevin

What OS are you using?

At this point, I'm going to assume 98. Have your OS cd in and go to Start>Run, type in 'sfc' (without the quotes and it stand for System File Checker, btw). Choose to Extract one file - type riched32.dll and then follow the prompts.