1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Wordpress: make users login

Discussion in 'Web Design & Development' started by JPLamb, Feb 22, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. JPLamb

    JPLamb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    577
    hello all,

    i am trying wordpress and am needing to make it so when people visit the site they have to login first, i thought this would be straight forward but after looking around on google i can not find the solution,

    does anybody have any pointers?

    i am running the latest version of Wordpress
     
  2. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    77,247
    are you using wordpress.com, or .org? I know the .com one still has a LOT of training wheels on it. Heck, that's what I use. For something like that, however, I'd imagine it would need to be hand-coded.
     
  3. JPLamb

    JPLamb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    577
    i am hosting it myself but belive it is from wordpress.org, didnt know there was a difference to be honest
     
  4. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    77,247
    little light reading for the differences between the two here:
     
  5. JPLamb

    JPLamb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    577
    this makes sense, self hosted so i have full flexibility to do anything, can install themes plugins with out any issues,

    i thought there would be a plugin of some sort that managed the login side of it
     
  6. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    77,247
    that one I do not know; my last experience with hand-coding came in 99 or so. :)

    Chances are we can find someone here who knows the answer, however.
     
  7. colinsp

    colinsp

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,270
    First Name:
    Colin
    It is fairly easy to do.

    One way is with the Role Scoper plug-in

    Another is to make the pages private.

    You will need a public page with both of the above so that your visitors see something and are then invited to login.
     
  8. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    77,247
    Thanks, colinsp....much appreciated. :)
     
  9. colinsp

    colinsp

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,270
    First Name:
    Colin
    No problem.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1090597

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice