Workgroup Problem

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

leaaa

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 15, 2007
Messages
46
Hi

I have a rather unusual network problem.

In our office we have 4 computers all which are wired up.

We have:

Leanne
Carol
Lesley
Matt-laptop

The workgroup is MATTNETWORK which is all setup correctly under computer properties.

The problem is that from Leanne Carol and Lesley, we cannot see Matt. We get the error "not accessible you might not have permission"

From Matt-laptop if I run \\leanne we get the same error, aswell as double clicking the Leanne icon under network window.

I have found a temp fix, which is using the IP address instead. \\IP address ... this brings up Matts folders and printers etc but it is annoying me that matt and I have to run our IP addresses as opposed to double clicking our computers under the network window.

The printer keeps disconnecting due to this happening so its not ideal.

Can someone help? It sounds to me either like a permissions problem or maybe even computer name problem? As the pings are responding. Could it be possible that under networks Matt-laptop has a different IP setup for his computer name? Im not sure where i can manage the IP addresses in the workgroup if this is even possible.

Thanks in advance for any help
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,554
Actually, this sounds like a master browser issue. Let's see this from EACH of the four computers when they're all booted up and on the network.


Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt:

In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands, one at a time, followed by the Enter key:

Note that there is a space before the -n or the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the - or / in the following commands.

NBTSTAT -n

IPCONFIG /ALL


Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
Paste the results in a message here.

If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
 

leaaa

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 15, 2007
Messages
46
Hi thanks for your reply. One of the computers have been taken out of office now but these are the results:

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Ashley>NBTSTAT -N

Local Area Connection:
Node IpAddress: [192.168.0.71] Scope Id: []

NetBIOS Local Name Table

Name Type Status
---------------------------------------------
LEANNE <00> UNIQUE Registered
MATTSOMERS <00> GROUP Registered
LEANNE <20> UNIQUE Registered
MATTSOMERS <1E> GROUP Registered

C:\Users\Ashley>IPCONFIG /ALL

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Leanne
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) 82562V 10/100 Network Connection

Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1D-09-84-AE-71
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::8553:4692:50f7:721%10(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.71(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 15 October 2010 03:27:07
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 16 October 2010 03:27:07
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.2
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.2
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 251665673
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-12-16-FF-7B-00-1D-09-84-AE-71

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.2
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{DD64E950-CE14-4454-A143-E71CC2204
84D}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:5ef5:79fd:3c06:224f:3f57:ffb8(Pref
erred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::3c06:224f:3f57:ffb8%11(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

C:\Users\Ashley>
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,554
I actually need to see all the computers that are currently connected. If the one that's giving you issues is gone, then you'll have to wait until it's connected and only then do all the displays. They must be done with all the machines connected to the network.
 

leaaa

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 15, 2007
Messages
46
Ok thanks, the machine which is having problems is connected but currently one machine (which is working fine on the network) is disconnected.
I will wait until i can get this connected to perform these steps

thanks
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,554
If you have a problem with the three machines on the network, please proceed and post the three diagnostics and we'll take a look.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,504
The workgroup is MATTNETWORK which is all setup correctly under computer properties.
On Leanne the workgroup is

MATTSOMERS <1E> GROUP Registered
You might want to double check the workgroup on each PC.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top