1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Works Suite 2002 install problems

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by Dreamcatcher, Jul 30, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Dreamcatcher

    Dreamcatcher Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    29
    I have installed Works Suite three times and am told it has been successfully installed. I appear to have all the files, but the Task Launcher doesn't work, nor do most of the new features. I have a Desktop icon for Works Suite which brings up a Works screen, and when I select "About Microsoft" I get a small screen that says Microsoft Works 6.0 (which I had originally), but the window below it lists the Microsoft Works 2002. I also have a Desktop icon for Money 2002, but when click I get the message "This action is only valid for products that are currently installed".

    If I go to Windows Explorer I can click on Microsoft Office Tools, then Activation, and I get the same message as above.

    I don't know what to do at this point. Do I need to delete all the MS Works files and reinstall Works Suite 2002? What I have seems to be a mixture of the old and the new. I have looked for a Remove feature on the 2002 CD and there isn't any...or I haven't found it, so I can't directly uninstall from the CD's.

    Can you help?
     
  2. rkselby98

    rkselby98

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    4,117
    If it is like most office suite programs you probably only installed parts of the programs.

    When you installed did you check to make sure all of it was installed? Not install on first use or run from cd. These are options on ms products to save space on the hard drive and it sounds like you didn't fully install the programs.

    Put the cd in and when the install windows opens click on add compornets or something like that and check to see how the programs are installed.

    AND WELCOME TO TSG!!!
     
  3. Dreamcatcher

    Dreamcatcher Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    29
    Thank you for the welcome!

    The CD had a place at the beginning of the install to check all the programs wanted, and they were all checked. All the programs are shown in Windows Explorer, along with files in each, so it appears I got them all.

    One thing I failed to mention: after each install, when I entered Works, I got an error message saying there was a problem with the Registry and it would be corrected. With one install I was able to look under "About Microsoft" and see a new PID...and then the error message came and when I looked for the PID again, it was the original one that went with Works 6.0. Could this be the problem?
     
  4. rkselby98

    rkselby98

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    4,117
    What I would do is remove works. Then delete the folders that go to the programs.

    Next I would clean the registry of works, money and what ever the other programs are that are part of this suite.

    If you don't or aren't sure about cleaning the registry go to

    http://download.com.com/3000-2094-881470.html?legacy=cnet



    and down load RegClean. It is a very simple program to use and it is safe.

    Once your registry is clean then try the install again.
     
  5. Dreamcatcher

    Dreamcatcher Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    29
    Many thanks! I will do what you suggest tomorrow and post the results when I'm done.
     
  6. Dreamcatcher

    Dreamcatcher Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    29
    Hi, Rick...here's what happened.
    I got rid of all MS Works files, downloaded RegCleaner and used it, then starting re-installing Works Suite 2002. When starting the install, I got a message that I should insert the CD with Works 6.0 on it, which was the one already inserted. It wanted a file called Works6.msi. I left the install and checked the CD I was using, and the file was there.

    I tried again, with the same results, even tried to ignore and get past it. Couldn't do it. So, I went to my recycle bin and put back MS Works and then did an install. When I tried the Task Launcher I got the same message I had originally. Then I got a message that there was a problem with the registry and Windows would correct it. So I'm right back where I started.

    When I deleted MS Works I deleted the folder. Should I go back and delete files in the folder separately and leave the file requested if I can find it? Or maybe go to RegCleaner and select Automatic? I'm at a loss as to what to do!

    Faye (Dreamcatcher)
     
  7. rkselby98

    rkselby98

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    4,117
    I would uninstall it again. Clean the registry again, delete all folders and files again, making sure to save the data files you need.

    Then make sure you go into C:\windows\temp folder and delete all files and folders in there.

    There could be a folder in there from a previous install that will not let it install correctly.

    Reboot and try again.

    BUT before you do all that you might want to delete all files and folders in the temp folder and try to reinstall.

    One question does works have a detect and repair utility like office 2002?

    If it does it will be under help.
     
  8. rkselby98

    rkselby98

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    4,117
    Dreamcatcher,

    Let me explain the RegCleaner to you to make sure you are using it correctly.

    When you open it, click on the software tab, put a check in all Works programs. Then go to the bottom left corner and click delete.

    Then go to the start up tab and do the same, go through each tab doing this.

    Then at the top look for tools and click on it. Then click on registy clean up and then do them all.

    Delete all that it finds.

    Close it out.
     
  9. Dreamcatcher

    Dreamcatcher Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    29
    Rick...

    I did everything you say in your last post except the last item. Under tools I did OLE and Orphan.

    I will try to access Works Help screens to check on a detect and repair feature. I don't remember having seen one.

    I empty temp files every day, but there may be something that is getting repeated and is interfering. Also, my Undelete program wasn't able to undelete the Works 2002 files, so earlier I just deleted files from IE. Then after I had reinstalled, I discovered an uninstall feature within a Works folder. If I have to uninstall again, using that may make a difference.
     
  10. rkselby98

    rkselby98

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    4,117
  11. Dreamcatcher

    Dreamcatcher Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    29
    Thanks, Rick. I've bookmarked the sites and will read them a little later.

    I told you in a prior post that I had found an uninstall icon for Works 2002, but after I wrote I clicked on the icon and it just brings up notepad with a list of paths.

    Also, I used the RegCleaner again, selecting Do It All, and the end result showed many items that are supposed to be safe to remove. But I am in doubt because (for example) in the list were AOL items for goodbye.wav and welcome. wav. I would assume these were duplicates, but not being sure I didn't remove any of these files. From your experience can I feel confident that removing these items is safe?

    Later today I'm going to repeat what I did yesterday, but try installing one program from the Suite at a time....Word to be the first, for that's the most important to me.

    Dreamcatcher
     
  12. rkselby98

    rkselby98

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    4,117
    Dreamcaster remove them I will tell you why. It is so easy to do a registry restore anymore that it just isn't worth not doing it.

    To restore a registry you have to do it usually within "4" Days.

    boot to dos.

    At the C:> type the following

    scanreg /restore

    That is all there is to restoring a registry today as long as you don't have win95.

    I am guessing you have win98 or ME, maybe XP you didn't say but it is easy to restore the registry and by removing the entries we may solve the problem.

    Second I have never known RegClean to mess up a computer.
     
  13. Dreamcatcher

    Dreamcatcher Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    29
    I have ME. I should have stated that in my first post. Sorry.

    This command, scanreg/restore, I have seen in some other post which said a date could be added. For instance, scanreg/restore 6/30 (with a space before the date). The reason I mention this is because soon after I started the installs of 2002 my System Restore feature would no longer let me go back to prior months. If I can use such a command I could at least get back to where my Works 6.0 was working and start again....and, if I can do this, should the date include the year?
     
  14. rkselby98

    rkselby98

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    4,117
    I don't have ME. I only have 98 so I am not sure. My suggestion on that would be to find a post that Mosaic1 has replied to and click on her underlined name and send her a private message.

    She would know more about that feature than I would.

    If you could go back it might help. The scanreg /restore can only go back 4 days.
     
  15. Dreamcatcher

    Dreamcatcher Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    29
    Okay. Four days won't help.

    I tried installing just Word today, and quickly got an error message saying there was an error uninstalling MS Works 2000 (which I don't have). I tried the Ignore button and got the same message.

    I read through descriptions of Works 2002 at several software sites, and at CNet under specs it showed "Architecture" as Standalone (Tier 1). That sounds to me as though the software should be workable even if I had never had any version of Works.

    I also read about the Task Launcher needing activation, but no screen ever came up for that during any install I've done. So, hoping to find a way around all this confusion, I sent an email to Microsoft asking if I needed to get Works 2001 and install that before 2002 (though they're both Standalones). As I'm sure you know, MS is almost impossible to communicate with, without paying an "incident" fee. Hopefully I'll get a useful answer from them tomorrow.

    Rick, you've been very patient, and I sincerely appreciate all your help. I will explore the Task Launcher issue and see if I can find an answer to the activation problem. I will undoubtedly be posting again...most especially if the problems get solved! And I will definitely welcome any other suggestions you have!
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/89312

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice