1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Would A Ram Upgrade From 1Gb To 2Gb Help At All?

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by ablang, Dec 22, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ablang

    ablang Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    7
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    i would not expect 2GB to make a great deal of difference
    to test that boot up the PC and then burn a CD and see how much memory is used in task manager - i suspect you will still have a lot to spare
    task manager will also give you the CPU usage would be worth looking at that
    i suspect its the time to write to the DVD/CD
     
  3. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,572
    I agree with etaf - as he would expect - he is more experienced than I am.

    However I would add that if this is the standard computer as supplied by HP using the integrated graphics then I opine that IGb is unsatisfactory not particularly as etaf says for this matter but generally.

    The computer will accept 4Gb ram, albeit of course that 32bit Windows will only see 3.2Gb
    It is dual core processor and I have always found that to take full effect of the benefits of dual core, all ram must be populated. As you have only two sticks of 512 clearly this is not the case.

    The reason I say that 1Gb is insufficient - depending on that integrated graphics - if it is. Then that is of course using system memory to start with
    Internal onboard graphics using system memory - so if the integrated graphics are even only 64Mb, my bet is that physical memory available on Task Manager, depending on how many processes are running will be woefully insufficent.

    Speed of processor - Athlon 3500 - HOWEVER that is 2.2Ghz.
    Although it will only burn a DVD RW at 4x it will according to your spec burn a DVD at up to 16x depending on type. - of course faster burn speed can result in errors.
     
  4. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,820
    First Name:
    Frank
    Since you have 2 slots filled with 512 MB modules and have 2 slots empty, I would fill the empty slots with 512 MB modules and give that HP Pavilion a1130n the benefit of 2048 MB(2 GB) of RAM.

    It's not going to speed up and shorten your CD/DVD burning time by much, if any at all, but the extra RAM will come handy if you do anything memory-hungry.

    And DDR PC3200 modules aren't expensive to buy.

    http://www.crucial.com/store/listparts.aspx?model=Pavilion a1130n Series

    http://www.memoryx.net/hepapaa1me94.html

    http://www.memorystock.com/memory/HewlettPackardPaviliona1130n.html

    -----------------------------------------------------------------
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/970006

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice