1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

would appreciate help playing old games

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by bloom, Nov 26, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bloom

bloom Thread Starter

First off I am new to all this
    I have win xp home, and would like to play old games (such as Full Throttle)

I have tried the win xp compatability mode with no success.

Have downloaded scummvm and dos box but I simply dont understand how to use them.

I looked at vm ware which allows multiple systems such as 95 and 98 but I dont see how that works because of the more powerfull system I have (which I assume would be too powerfull for the old games) ie 1 gig ram 128 vid card athlon 3000+

I tried to buy a win 98 PC but it seems harder than I imagined.

One person was reluctant to sell me a reconditioned xp when I asked him to uninstall xp and put in win 98.

I am rather puzzled I thought it would be simple to play old games but apparently not so

I would appreciate any help to enable me to play these old classics. Such as what system I would need, Or help re VMSCUMM or DOS BOX

Thank You for your advice

Jean Bloom

2. The Hound

The Hound

I can't vouch for it, but the author of this site seems to know a great deal about the classics--Leisure Suit Larry will always have place in my heart...

EDIT>>>Salvation Army, Goodwill, Habitat for Humanity REStores, and yard sales often have older desktops at bargain basement prices. Ask your local geek as well--I have two I'll give away when they're complete again.

3. bloom

bloom Thread Starter

Thank you sir for your reply, I went to the site you reccomended and copied the instructions to look at. I am still looking for a win 98/95 PC. I am not too sure about installing win 95/98 with win xp.