1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Would like to upgrade my pc or replace it!!!

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by bloodIV, Jan 29, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bloodIV

    bloodIV Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    I would like to upgrade some of my old pc parts, and theres also a game i recenlty dled called supcom that i want the play and the specs are way over for me.

    Others notes, i've had this pc for probably over 5 years, replaced nothing yet, everything still works fine, and my pc has been on almost 24/6 a week, i did purchase a sata2 harddrive but have been a bit lazy to put it in, that and im a total newb, but any help would be great.

    What i would really like is to find a nice decent and cheap motherboard to go with a good video card so i can hope to play d3 later in the future, but if you have any other upgrades for my other parts that would be great aswell.

    Here's my specs : specs to play supcom is in the bottom

    Operating System: Windows XP Home Edition (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 2 (2600.xpsp_sp2_gdr.050301-1519)
    Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
    System Manufacturer: Dell Inc.
    System Model: Dimension 4700
    BIOS: Phoenix ROM BIOS PLUS Version 1.10 A06
    Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.00GHz (2 CPUs)
    Memory: 2550MB RAM
    Page File: 743MB used, 2408MB available
    Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
    DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
    DX Setup Parameters: Not found
    DxDiag Version: 5.03.2600.2180 32bit Unicode

    ------------------------
    Disk & DVD/CD-ROM Drives
    ------------------------
    Drive: C:
    Free Space: x.x GB
    Total Space: 73.3 GB
    File System: NTFS
    Model: ST380013AS

    Drive: E:
    Free Space: 3.0 GB
    Total Space: 3.0 GB
    File System: NTFS
    Model: ST380013AS

    Drive: D:
    Model: PIONEER DVD-RW DVR-116D
    Driver: c:\windows\system32\drivers\cdrom.sys, 5.01.2600.2180 (English), 8/4/2004 06:00:00, 49536 bytes

    Drive: F:
    Model: AT7132A EVV247R SCSI CdRom Device
    Driver: c:\windows\system32\drivers\cdrom.sys, 5.01.2600.2180 (English), 8/4/2004 06:00:00, 49536 bytes

    ------------------------------------------------------------
    Heres the system req to play supcom

    SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS

    MINIMUM SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS:
    Microsoft® Windows® XP Service Pack 2, Vista
    1.8 GHz processor
    512 MB RAM
    8 GB available hard drive space
    128 MB video RAM or greater, with DirectX 9 Vertex Shader / Pixel Shader 2.0 support (Nvidia 6x00 or better)
    Sound card, speakers or headphones
    Broadband internet connection (DSL/Cable).

    RECOMMENDED SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS:
    3.0 GHz Intel or equivalent AMD processor or better
    1 GB RAM or better
    8 GB available hard drive space
    256 MB video RAM, with DirectX 9 Vertex Shader / Pixel Shader 2.0 support (Nvidia 6800 or better)
    Internet connection with Cable/DSL speeds

    Any help would be great thanks.
     
  2. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
  3. bloodIV

    bloodIV Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Ahh, yea so sorry i didn't notice that i left that out here is is:

    ---------------
    Display Devices
    ---------------
    Card name: Intel(R) 82915G/GV/910GL Express Chipset Family
    Manufacturer: Intel Corporation
    Chip type: Intel(R) 82915G/GV/910GL Express Chipset
    DAC type: Internal
    Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2582&SUBSYS_01811028&REV_04
    Display Memory: 128.0 MB
    Current Mode: 1152 x 864 (32 bit) (75Hz)
    Monitor: Dell 1704FPT (Analog)
    Monitor Max Res: 1280,1024
    Driver Name: ialmrnt5.dll
    Driver Version: 6.14.0010.4410 (English)
    DDI Version: 9 (or higher)
    Driver Attributes: Final Retail
    Driver Date/Size: 10/14/2005 15:06:58, 36990 bytes
    WHQL Logo'd: Yes
    WHQL Date Stamp: n/a
    VDD: n/a
    Mini VDD: ialmnt5.sys
    Mini VDD Date: 10/14/2005 15:15:18, 1302812 bytes
    Device Identifier: {D7B78E66-66C2-11CF-A262-8B21A5C2CB35}
    Vendor ID: 0x8086
    Device ID: 0x2582
    SubSys ID: 0x01811028
    Revision ID: 0x0004
    Revision ID: 0x0004
    Video Accel:
    Deinterlace Caps: n/a
    Registry: OK
    DDraw Status: Enabled
    D3D Status: Enabled
    AGP Status: Not Available
    DDraw Test Result: Not run
    D3D7 Test Result: Not run
    D3D8 Test Result: Not run
    D3D9 Test Result: Not run
     
  4. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    Yes,that is integrated onboard video.
    Adding a PCI express video card should help a lot.
    You will want to make sure to get one that doesn't require
    more power than your power supply produces or
    upgrade your power supply.
     
  5. bloodIV

    bloodIV Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Im using the built in power supply 305w, any idea on what i should replace it with, or which power supply and video card i should i get, i should i have enough to afford it
     
  6. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    You might check the dell website or ebay for a compatable
    500+ watt power supply.
    Dell likes to switch a couple of the atx connections in
    some of the systems they build so they are not directly
    compatable with standard atx supplies.
    Something like this should work........
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817703016
    Dont skimp and get a cheap supply.
    It can cost you in burned out parts later.

    This is a very good mid range video card..........
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814161252

    Just make sure you have room in the case.
    Some of these cards are fairly long.
     
  7. bloodIV

    bloodIV Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Ahh much thanks,

    PC Power & Cooling Silencer Dell Upgrade PPCS500D 500W ATX12V


    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817703016

    HIS Hightech H467QT512P Radeon HD 4670 IceQ Turbo 512MB 128-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16


    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814161252


    I might also plan on getting an new motherboard aswell, would it be a good idea and if so which?

    edit: i read some of the reviews for the video card and some stated it takes up 2 slots? What does that mean, my motherboard only has 1 pci 16x slot in it, also how do i use or open the mail in rebates, sorry for all the questions i don't shop online too much.
     
  8. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    Changing the motherboard would be a different story.
    Would need to find out if a standard ATX board would
    mount in your case.
    It would probably be better to buy a new case and use standard parts to build one.
    With a newer board,you could probably use your processor,
    depending on the model,but you would need to get newer memory.
    You would have to use a standard atx power supply and not the dell one.

    The video card uses the space of 2 slots because the fan sticks out
    far enough to cover up the slot next to it.
    It only needs one PCI express slot to plug into and uses
    the second slot in the back of the case as exhaust.
    I like this card because it has decent cooling and blows the hot air
    outside of the case.

    All in all,if you add the power supply and video card,
    you should be ok for a while.
     
  9. bloodIV

    bloodIV Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Ok, thanks for all your help.
     
  10. kieron77

    kieron77

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Hi did you ever get to fit the card? I have E521 and cant fit mine :(
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/795547

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice