1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

would like to upgrade to windows 7 from vista. How?

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by eyches, Sep 25, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. eyches

    eyches Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    vista is running real slow , seems bogged down. except in safe mode, where i cant do much How would i go about upgrading to 7 ? ive read a lot, all confused. thx.
     
    rach715 likes this.
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,320
    First Name:
    Terry
    An additional option is to buy a refurbished PC with a legitimate Windows 7 already installed. (Although my choice would be to try to find a Windows 8.1). And remember that Windows 7 is supported by Microsoft for only another 2 1/4 years.

    Get more life out of your current computer by reinstalling Vista or "Recover to factory defaults" and/or using a free Linux distribution.
     
    rach715 and metallica5456 like this.
  3. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    110,885
    Keep in mind that you cannot use a COA license that you purchase or download and maintain a genuine operating system. They come on a sticker with the original OEM installation and can only be used on that computer to activate the original operating system that the comupter came with.
     
    rach715 likes this.
  4. eyches

    eyches Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks, what is coa?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 25, 2017
  5. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,021
    First Name:
    Frank
    eyches:

    Do the following in your computer so we have some information on its description and hardware.

    Download and save the TSG System Information Utility (SysInfo.exe) file.
    After it's been downloaded and saved, double-click it to run it.
    Information about your computer will appear.
    Return here to your thread, then copy-and-paste the ENTIRE text here.

    If it's a factory-brand one and not a self-built one, also advise us what its brand name and model name and model number is.

    --------------------------------------------------------------
     
    rach715 likes this.
  6. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    110,885
    It stands for "Certificate of Authenticity" and I explained it in my post above.
     
  7. eyches

    eyches Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.4
    OS Version: Microsoft® Windows Vista™ Home Premium, Service Pack 2, 32 bit
    Processor: Genuine Intel(R) CPU 2140 @ 1.60GHz, x64 Family 6 Model 15 Stepping 2
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 2038 Mb
    Graphics Card: Intel(R) 82945G Express Chipset Family, 256 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: 289 GB (88 GB Free); D: 8 GB (1 GB Free); L: 297 GB (13 GB Free);
    Motherboard: ASUSTeK Computer INC., Lancaster8
    Antivirus: PC Cleaner Pro, Updated: Yes, On-Demand Scanner: Disabled


    ?? i got avg after the vista stopped beign supported & couldn't use security essentials. far asi know, im not using pc cleaner. at all. thanks.
     
  8. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,021
    First Name:
    Frank
    You appear to have a HP/Compaq brand computer.
    What is the exact serial number(S/N) and product number(P/N) and model number(M/N) on it?

    It has a weak Intel Pentium E2140 1.60 GHz processor and only 2 GB of RAM - which is one reason why it's running slow and bogging down.
    It also appears to be infected - which can also cause it to run slow and bog down.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  9. eyches

    eyches Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    How do I find the serial/model #s? Running avg right now.
    Why is it weak? Has it been damaged? How can you tell if it's infected?
    Thing is, it started bogging down after Ms no longer supported Vista, after I ha to get avg when Ms essential s no longer applied.
    Thanks
     
  10. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,021
    First Name:
    Frank
    The above entry in your log in post #7 shows you have a HP/Compaq brand desktop.
    Its serial number and product number and model number will be on the stickers/labels on its case.

    The ASUS Lancaster8 motherboard supports only 2 GB of RAM (which your log shows it already has), so there's no option to add more RAM.
    It's processor isn't damaged.
    It's just a very weak older model with a very low benchmark score.

    Capture.JPG
    The last entry in your log in post #7 shows it's probably infected.
    We'll address that issue later.

    -------------------------------------------------------------
     
  11. eyches

    eyches Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Ok. Thanks. I'm ready.
     
  12. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,021
    First Name:
    Frank
    You haven't replied back since September 26th(13 days ago), so I didn't expect to hear from you again.

    You still haven't provided any information or a description of your HP/Compaq desktop.

    You're ready for what?

    --------------------------------------------------------------
     
  13. eyches

    eyches Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    sorry, been busy, lots of stuff to do. ready for it to get uninfected.

    cant find a sticker, properties/SYS INFO says HP , GN582AAR-ABA SR5250NX ; also vista home premium svc pk 2

    product id 89578-oem-7332157-0006 thanks for any help.
     
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2017
  14. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,021
    First Name:
    Frank
    You have a Compaq Presario SR5250NX Desktop PC(GN582AA).
    It was introduced in August 2007 and sold in the U.S. and Canada and came with Windows Vista Home Premium 32-bit.
    It also came with these specs:
    Intel Pentium E2140 1.60 GHz dual core processor
    1 GB DDR2 RAM
    320 GB(298 GB actual capacity) SATA II hard drive
    DVD+/-RW SATA disc drive
    250W power supply
    Intel GMA 950 graphics
    Realtek ALC888 high definition audio
    Realtek RTL8101E 10/100 Mbps ethernet

    According to your log in post #7:
    It's maxed out with 2 GB of RAM.
    It has a second internal or external 320 GB hard drive connected to it.

    --------------------------------------------------------------

    Upgrading to Windows 7 32-bit isn't a good option for 2 reasons:
    That desktop's Intel processor is too slow, and it supports only 2 GB or RAM.
    A legitimate copy of Windows 7 is hard to find and would cost more than what that desktop is worth.

    What you really need to do is buy a newer and faster refurbished desktop that comes with Windows 7 64-bit or Windows 10 64-bit already installed.
    There are plenty of them out there in the $300 - $400 price range that you can choose from.

    --------------------------------------------------------------

    Which browser name and version number are you using to go on-line and browse various websites?
    The only modern browser that I'm aware of that still supports Windows Vista 32-bit is Mozilla Firefox 52.4.0 ESR.

    --------------------------------------------------------------
     
  15. eyches

    eyches Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks. I can't afford to buy another computer at this time. I usually use chrome, b/c firefox tends to get bogged down as well. Or maybe that's the computer.
    I ran the win7 upgrade advisor and it says all is well for win7.

    I run spybot & avg but it finds no infections.
    are there ways to improve teh function of what i have until i can get another one?I realize its pretty old. I guess. Like cars, my idea of a things' value is does it serve the function well, like going from point a to point b.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1196901

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice