Would this be a good pc for some games and web browsing?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.
Joined
Jan 19, 2006
Messages
938
That system won't game very well. Also i very much doubt the bios will allow you to overclock aswell. Only way you could do that would be maybe to find a hacked bios off the net which for one are very hard to find and two could cause problems. Sorry ;)
Internet wouldn't be a problem though.
 
Joined
Jul 7, 2006
Messages
1,085
You really can't have onboard video in a competent gaming rig. You'll need a minimum of 1GB of RAM too. Keep looking for something with a good video card in it--or build one yourself if you feel comfortable trying that.
 
Joined
Jul 7, 2006
Messages
1,085
You could, but you would most likely have to upgrade the power supply as well.

It does have a slot for current video cards. So you figure you'll have $300 into this computer, plus a minimum of $100 for a new card, and $75 to $100.00 for a new PSU, another 512 stick of PC2-4200 should be $50 to $60--then you'll have a low level gamer.

So you should figure around $ 550.00, approximately...

For a really good office machine and a low level gamer, not too bad of a deal.
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2006
Messages
938
From what i could see their i didn't think that computer had a pci-e or agp. Did i miss this? This changes things substantially if you're willing to spend some money on upgrading video. 1gb of ram will also do that machine the world of good so yeah you would then have (provided you bought a half decent card) something able to game. The quality of the gaming will depend very much on the card you buy.
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2006
Messages
5,855
For basic uses and playing UT2004 and WOW - this PC has the power... but add another stick of DDR2-667Mhz ($60) is recommened.

Note: UT2004 gaming servers are dwindling (I have 500 UT2004 maps on my PC) - its still a very fun game... and my PC is a lowly AMD64-3000!

Get a GeForce 7600GT (not the GS) or an ATI-1800 for about $135 (online www.newegg.com) - it will work fine on the HPaq system, they come with 300watt PSUs - but nothing more powerful than that for a video card. If you're nervous - pick up a 350~430watt PSU from Antec / thermaltake for about $50~60. Got one from Frys for $50 off the shelf (430watt Thermaltake).

This system is NOT exactly good for games of 2007 and beyond... But you're looking at spending a little money - not $1000~2000.

Note: Hpaq sells simular systems for that price range all the time... look else ware. WalMart sells the AMD-3800 version for $500~550 with a 17" LCD.

$130 - video card (7600GT min)
$ 50 - PSU
$ 60 - 512mb RAM
---------------------
$240~$250 on top of the cost of the base system of $400 (avg) = $650
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2002
Messages
13,404
Compiler said:
For basic uses and playing UT2004 and WOW - this PC has the power... but add another stick of DDR2-667Mhz ($60) is recommened.

Note: UT2004 gaming servers are dwindling (I have 500 UT2004 maps on my PC) - its still a very fun game... and my PC is a lowly AMD64-3000!

Get a GeForce 7600GT (not the GS) or an ATI-1800 for about $135 (online www.newegg.com) - it will work fine on the HPaq system, they come with 300watt PSUs - but nothing more powerful than that for a video card. If you're nervous - pick up a 350~430watt PSU from Antec / thermaltake for about $50~60. Got one from Frys for $50 off the shelf (430watt Thermaltake).

This system is NOT exactly good for games of 2007 and beyond... But you're looking at spending a little money - not $1000~2000.

Note: Hpaq sells simular systems for that price range all the time... look else ware. WalMart sells the AMD-3800 version for $500~550 with a 17" LCD.

$130 - video card (7600GT min)
$ 50 - PSU
$ 60 - 512mb RAM
---------------------
$240~$250 on top of the cost of the base system of $400 (avg) = $650
yeah good post, that about sums it up, with these so-called budget pc'z by the time you upgrade them end up in the $600 plus range, the 7600GT calls for a 20amp min 12v PSU
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2006
Messages
5,855
That model of Compaq is fairly current... the 2020 series is all the same - what varies is RAM / CPU type / HD size - All current AMD HPaq (HP & Compaq) use the same parts. HP versions are more expensive with more "advanced" case and higher in models. Compaq is their "econo" line.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top