1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Would this be a good pc for some games and web browsing?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by fox7399, Jan 21, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. fox7399

    fox7399 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    21
  2. maxibhoy

    maxibhoy

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    938
    That system won't game very well. Also i very much doubt the bios will allow you to overclock aswell. Only way you could do that would be maybe to find a hacked bios off the net which for one are very hard to find and two could cause problems. Sorry ;)
    Internet wouldn't be a problem though.
     
  3. telegramsam

    telegramsam

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,085
    You really can't have onboard video in a competent gaming rig. You'll need a minimum of 1GB of RAM too. Keep looking for something with a good video card in it--or build one yourself if you feel comfortable trying that.
     
  4. fox7399

    fox7399 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Could I just add a video card to the system? and a gig of ram?
     
  5. telegramsam

    telegramsam

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,085
    You could, but you would most likely have to upgrade the power supply as well.

    It does have a slot for current video cards. So you figure you'll have $300 into this computer, plus a minimum of $100 for a new card, and $75 to $100.00 for a new PSU, another 512 stick of PC2-4200 should be $50 to $60--then you'll have a low level gamer.

    So you should figure around $ 550.00, approximately...

    For a really good office machine and a low level gamer, not too bad of a deal.
     
  6. maxibhoy

    maxibhoy

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    938
    From what i could see their i didn't think that computer had a pci-e or agp. Did i miss this? This changes things substantially if you're willing to spend some money on upgrading video. 1gb of ram will also do that machine the world of good so yeah you would then have (provided you bought a half decent card) something able to game. The quality of the gaming will depend very much on the card you buy.
     
  7. telegramsam

    telegramsam

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,085
  8. brite750

    brite750

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    13,404
  9. maxibhoy

    maxibhoy

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    938
    What's gone ?
     
  10. maxibhoy

    maxibhoy

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    938
    Oh i see. They're not availible. Good spot Brite!
     
  11. Compiler

    Compiler

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    5,855
    For basic uses and playing UT2004 and WOW - this PC has the power... but add another stick of DDR2-667Mhz ($60) is recommened.

    Note: UT2004 gaming servers are dwindling (I have 500 UT2004 maps on my PC) - its still a very fun game... and my PC is a lowly AMD64-3000!

    Get a GeForce 7600GT (not the GS) or an ATI-1800 for about $135 (online www.newegg.com) - it will work fine on the HPaq system, they come with 300watt PSUs - but nothing more powerful than that for a video card. If you're nervous - pick up a 350~430watt PSU from Antec / thermaltake for about $50~60. Got one from Frys for $50 off the shelf (430watt Thermaltake).

    This system is NOT exactly good for games of 2007 and beyond... But you're looking at spending a little money - not $1000~2000.

    Note: Hpaq sells simular systems for that price range all the time... look else ware. WalMart sells the AMD-3800 version for $500~550 with a 17" LCD.

    $130 - video card (7600GT min)
    $ 50 - PSU
    $ 60 - 512mb RAM
    ---------------------
    $240~$250 on top of the cost of the base system of $400 (avg) = $650
     
  12. brite750

    brite750

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    13,404
    yeah good post, that about sums it up, with these so-called budget pc'z by the time you upgrade them end up in the $600 plus range, the 7600GT calls for a 20amp min 12v PSU
     
  13. brite750

    brite750

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    13,404
    well not online anyway, unless a store still has one in stock
     
  14. Compiler

    Compiler

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    5,855
    That model of Compaq is fairly current... the 2020 series is all the same - what varies is RAM / CPU type / HD size - All current AMD HPaq (HP & Compaq) use the same parts. HP versions are more expensive with more "advanced" case and higher in models. Compaq is their "econo" line.
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/537287

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice