1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Would you buy this external dvd writer?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by rebon, Jan 23, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. rebon

    rebon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,118
    Thinking of buying an external dvd writer, thing is I no nothing about dvd writers, except that I need the 4.7 gb storage capacity. Would be usefull to have all that space on one disk.

    The reson for external is because I am thinking of renewing my pc fairly soon ( months ) however the dvd writer seems to come as standard more or less now.
    So Im not sure which way to go? Buy a cheaper inernal dvd writer now or buy the external dvd writer that I will be able to use on my new pc in a matter of months, maybe a year.

    Anyhow is this
    A dvd writer you would buy?


    thx...rob
     
  2. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    If you don't have USB 2.0 or Firewire then the burner will be extremely slow.

    Why not wait until you go for the new system. Also many systems do come with a DVD burner as a standard option but as an extra option. If you plan on building a computer you can reuse an internal DVD burner or even even install it into a brand new computer if you choose to buy it without a DVD burner.
     
  3. rebon

    rebon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,118
    Thank's for the reply Triple6.
    Would you no a way I can tell if I have USB2? I ran sisoft sanra and it says I have 4 USB controlers and the speed was 48mhz. Not sure if that's USB1 or 2.
    It also says I have 2 firewire/1394 controllers with a speed of 400mhz.
    My system is an AMD 3ghz which acording to sandra runs @ 2.15 gigahertz AMD Athlon XP. I am running xp pro as my OS.

    Do you no of a way I can find out if it is USB2 on my system?

    BTW I want external so I can use it on my 2.8 celron laptop.


    thx...rob
     
  4. rebon

    rebon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,118
    Solved it, just looked at my motherboard manual and guess what, I got USB2 and firewire:) Why oh why did I not think of that before :) :)
     
  5. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    You have an AMD XP3000+ and you are replacing the system? Why?
     
  6. rebon

    rebon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,118
    Hello Triple6,
    Just carnt help myself when it comes to pc's I just have to get the latest tecnology, so I sell my old pc usually to my mates, they no they get a good pc spec from a good home.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/322511

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice